Major Committees 2016: Bimal Jalan Committee and Hari Gautam Committee and Suresh Prabhu Committee (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for IAS is prepared by world's top subject experts: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 166.93 K)

Bimal Jalan Committee Purpose: To head the Expenditure Management Commission. About Bimal Jalan Committee The Bimal Jalan panel, which is scrutinizing applications for new bank licenses, will hold a meeting on 10 February.

  • The committee held its first meeting on 1 November.
  • Initially, 26 entities demonstrated interest in entering the banking arena. Tata Sons, the holding company of the Tata group, withdrew its application in November, leaving 25 players in the fray.
  • Public sector units India Post and IFCI, private sector Anil Ambani group and Aditya Birla group submitted applications on 1 July.
  • Besides, Bajaj Finance, Muthoot Finance, Religare Enterprises and Shriram Capital have applied for the licences.
  • The RBI issued guidelines for licensing of new banks on 22 February and issued clarifications in June.
  • In the past 20 years, the RBI has licensed only 12 banks in the private sector in two phases.
  • Ten banks were licensed because of guidelines issued in January 1993. The guidelines were revised in January 2001, based on the experience gained from the functioning of these banks, and fresh applications were invited.

Hari Gautam Committee

Purpose: To review the status of UGC

About Hari Gautam Committee

  • The Ministry of Human Resource Development had constituted a Committee.
  • A Committee headed by Dr. Hari Gautam.
  • Dr. Hari Gautam to recommend restructuring and strengthening UGC for attaining even better performance to meet the desired objective.
  • The mandate given to the Committee was to analyze, review and recommend to the Ministry, the architecture required.
  • The Ministry will have to take a view after going through it threadbare.
  • Hari Gautam committee report had concluded that the UGC does not have the sufficient number of personnel of necessary quality, to be a useful regulatory force in the higher education sector.

Suresh Prabhu Committee

Purpose: To review gas-pricing formula

About Suresh Prabhu Committee

  • Suresh Prabhu is a former Union Power Minister under National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government led by Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
  • The other members on the panel will be Pratap Bhanu Mehta, President and Chief Executive of Centre for Policy Research and Bibek Debroy of the same institute.
  • The decision to set up Suresh Prabhu Committee comes close on the heels of the Union government decision to put stay on the revision of natural gas price.
  • The Union Cabinet on 25 June 2014 had deferred the implementation of the C Rangarajan Committee’s pricing formula until 30 September 2014 for conducting a comprehensive review of the whole issue.
  • The implementation of the Rangrajan pricing formula would have doubled current gas rates to at least 8.4 US dollars per million.
  • British thermal unit raising power cost by over 2 rupees per unit, urea production cost by 6228 rupees per ton and piped gas by 8.50 rupees per kg.

- Published/Last Modified on: November 28, 2016

Committees/Govt. Bodies

Developed by: