Malcolm Turnbull Sworn in as Australian Prime Minister for Second Term [ Current News (Concise) ]


Malcolm Turnbull was sworn as Australian Prime Minister for second term after a narrow success in the federal election. Malcolm Turnbull sworn by Governor-General Peter Cosgrove, Queen Elizabeth II’s representative in government house in Australia.

  • Malcolm Turnbull became the 29th Prime Minister of the Australia.
Malcolm Turnbull Prime Minister of the Australia

Malcolm Turnbull Prime Minister of the Australia

Malcolm Turnbull Prime Minister of the Australia

Background Details:

  • Liberal/National Coalition led by Malcolm Turnbull had won a one-seat majority of 76 seats out of 150-seat House of Governments in the Australian federal election 2016.
  • The opposition Labor Party won 69 seats.
  • In the 45th Parliament of Australia, federal election 2016 was a double disbanding election to elect members.

About Malcolm Turnbull:

  • Malcolm Bligh Turnbull born on 24 October 1954.
  • After graduating from Oxford, he returned to Australia and began working as a barrister.
  • He had worked as a lawyer, journalist, investment banker and venture capitalist before that to entering in politics.
  • He started political career in 2004 after he was elected as Member of Parliament from Wentworth.
  • In 2007, he had served as Minister for the Environment and Water in the Howard Government.
  • Malcolm Turnbull was elected Leader of the Liberal Party and become Leader of the Opposition in September 2008.
  • He became the Prime Minister of Australia by succeeding Tony Abbott in September 2015.
  • He became PM after beating Abbott in internal party leadership ballot of the Liberal Party.
  • In 2016 federal election he was subsequently elected in his own right.
  • Malcolm Turnbull was the Minister for Communications from September 2013 to September 2015 in the Tony Abbott’s government.

- Published/Last Modified on: July 20, 2016