Moortidevi Award for M P Veerendra Kumar (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

The prestigious Moortidevi Award for Rajya Sabha MP and writer M P Veerendra Kumar has been selected of Bharatiya Jnanpith organization. M P Veerendra Kumar will be presented the 30th Moortidevi Award instituted by Bharatiya Jnanpith.


  • The Moortidevi Award is instituted by the Bhartiya Jnanpith.
  • it՚s presented annually for a ″ contemplative and perceptive work which expresses underlines and illumines human values rooted in the broad vision of cultural heritage and Indian philosophy
  • The award is given annually for books written in all Indian languages also English relating to Indian philosophy.
  • The award carries an amount of ₹ 4 lakh.
  • Veerendra Kumar՚s has been selected for the award for his work Haimavatha Bhoovil. He is the author of 21 works in Malayalam.
  • Poet Akkitham and short story writer C Radhakrishnan are the other Keralites who received the Moortidevi award before.

About M P Veerendra Kumar

M P Veerendra Kumar
  • Born: 22 July 1936
  • Political party: Janata Dal (United)
  • Residence: Wayanad, Kerala
  • Religion: Jainism
  • M. P. Veerendra Kumar is writer and journalist an Indian politician, he was a member of the 14th Lok Sabha
  • He is a member of the Janata Dal (United) political party and the president of Kerala state unit of the party.
  • M P Veerendra Kumar is Chairman and Managing Director of the Malayalam daily Mathrubhumi and a Rajya Sabha MP.
  • Veerendra Kumar has been conferred with nearly 100 awards including:
List of Award Achieve by M P Veerendra Kumar

Moortidevi award:

  • Moortidevi Award is given annually in the Literature field.
  • The Moortidevi Award is instated in 1944 by the Bharatiya Jnanpith organization.
  • The Moortidevi Award emphasizes Indian philosophy and culture.
  • The prize included an amount
    • 1 lakh (US $ 1,500) a plaque, a statue of Saraswati, and a shawl.
    • The cash prize was raised to 2 lakh (US $ 3,000) in the year 2011
    • 4 lakh (US $ 5,900) in the year 2013

- Published/Last Modified on: March 16, 2017


Developed by: