Mumbai Psychiatrist Bharat Vatwani, Ladakhi Education Reformer Sonam Wangchuk Win Magsaysay (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 200.23 K)

2 Indians Bharat Vatwani & Sonam Wangchuk are among 6 winners of 2018 Ramon Magsaysay Award, often referred to as Asian version of Nobel Prize. Other winners are: Youk Chhang (Cambodia), Maria de Lourdes Martins Cruz (East Timor).

  • Howard Dee (Philippines)

  • Vo Thi Hoang Yen (Vietnam)

Indians Bharat Vatwani & Sonam Wangchuk are among 6 winners

Indians Bharat Vatwani & Sonam Wangchuk Are Among 6 Winners

Image of 2 Indians Bharat Vatwani & Sonam Wangchuk are among 6 winners of 2018

  • Winners will each receive certificate, medallion bearing image of late Filipino leader Ramon Magsaysay & cash prize.
  • They will be conferred w/award during formal presentation ceremony at Cultural Centre in Philippines in August 2018.

Key Facts of Winners

Bharat Vatwani:

  • He is psychiatrist who works for mentally-ill people living on streets in Mumbai.

  • Award recognizes his courage & compassion in embracing India’s mentally-afflicted destitute & his dedication to work of restoring & affirming human dignity of even most ostracized.

  • In 1988, He established Shraddha Rehabilitation Foundation w/aim to rescue mentally-ill persons living on streets.

  • Foundation provides free shelter, food, & psychiatric treatment to such people & work to reunite them with their families.

Sonam Wangchuk:

  • He is educational reformer from Ladakh.

  • In 1988, he had founded Students’ Education & Cultural Movement of Ladakh to coach poor Ladakhi students.

  • Award recognizes his uniquely systematic, collaborative & community-driven reform of learning systems in remote Ladakh region which has helped to improve life opportunities of youths.

  • He is widely regarded as inspiration for Aamir Khan’s character, Phunsuk Wangdu in film ‘3 Idiots’.

Ramon Magsaysay Award

  • It is Asia’s highest honour & is often regarded as region’s equivalent of Nobel Prize.

  • It was established in 1957 by trustees of New York City based Rockefeller Brothers Fund & Philippine govt. in memory of Philippines’ 3rd President Ramon Magsaysay who had died in air disaster in March 1957.

  • It is awarded annually to individuals or organizations from Asia region for their altruistic & philanthropic service.

  • It carries Medallion bearing likeness of late President Ramon Magsaysay, cash prize & certificate.

- Published/Last Modified on: November 9, 2018

Education, Awards

Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.