NAAC’S Revised Accreditation Framework (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

NAAC understanding the changing trends in higher education, feedback, and experience from its accreditation exercise involving more than 11,132 institutions (518 Universities and 10614 Colleges till July 2017) came up with new accreditation framework to remain relevant and globally acceptable.

National Assessment and Accreditation Council
  • Revised Accreditation Framework from July 2017, is ICT enabled, objective, transparent, scalable and robust
  • Combination of System Generated Scores (SGS) with a combination of online evaluation (70 %) and peer evaluation (30 %) with high level of transparency.
  • ICT intensive and ‘outcome based’ - current grading pattern of NAAC (A ++ , A + , A, B ++ , B + , B, C, D) continued for accreditation.
  • The policy brings in a system of minimum qualifiers for achieving a grade, for example, Universities should score a minimum of 3.01 in Criteria 1,2 and 3 for achieving a “A” “A +” “A ++” grade.
  • NAAC conducted several rounds of stakeholder interactions and pilot tested the new policy on select Higher Education Institutions (HEI՚s) across

What is National Assessment and Accreditation Council?

  • Organisation assessing and accrediting higher education Institutions (HEIs) .
  • Autonomous body funded by University Grants Commission of Government of India
  • Headquartered in Bangalore
  • Established in 1994 in response to recommendations of National Policy in Education (1986) which was formed to “address the issues of deterioration in quality of education”

Scheme of Accreditation

Table Contain Shows the Scheme of Accreditation

Table Contain Shows the Scheme of Accreditation
Range of institutional CGPALetter GradePerformance Descriptor
3.01 - 4.00AVery Good (Accredited)
2.01 - 3.00BGood (Accredited)
1.51 - 2.00CSatisfactory (Accredited)
⩽ 1.50DUnsatisfactory (Not Accredited)

Seven criteria based on which the grading is done:

  • Curricular Aspect
  • Teaching- Learning & Evaluation
  • Research, Consultancy & Extension
  • Infrastructure & Learning Resources
  • Governance, Leadership & Management
  • Innovation & Best Practices
  • Student Support & Progression

- Published/Last Modified on: September 5, 2017


Developed by: