NFSA implemented in 14 districts by Odisha government (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 192.37 K)

Odisha Government has started implementation of National Food Security Act (NFSA), 2013 in 14 of the 30 districts of the state. It covers almost 26.33 lakh families. State Food supplies and Consumer Welfare department has issued directives to the district administration to monitor the implementation of the NFSA and cure indiscretions.

Key Features:

  • 14 districts in the first phase includes: Angul, Bargarh, Boudh, Balangir, Deogarh, Gajapati, Jharsuguda, Kandhamal, Kalahandi, Koraput, Malkangiri, Nuapada, Sambalpur and Sonepur.
  • Under the NFSA, benefactors are entitled to get 5 kg of rice at Rs. 3 or 5 kg of wheat at Rs. 2 from Public Distribution System (PDS) Centres.
  • The second phase of the NFSA will be applied in remaining 16 other districts of the State from 1st December 2015.
  • The scheme would benefit around 93.35 lakh people in the state.

About National Food Security Act (NFSA):

  • NSFA aims at providing legal entitlement to 5 kg of subsidized nourishment grains to the identified person per month.
  • Grains like wheat, rice and coarse grain will be distributed at the price of 3 Rs. 3, Rs. 2 and Rs. 1.
  • Pregnant women and lactating mothers and children are allowed to get meals under the prescribed nutrition by MDM and ICDS.
  • The age group would be 6 months to 14 years.
  • NFSA 2013 will provide high nutrition food to the age group of 6 years.
  • Pregnant women and lactating mothers will be permitted to get maternity benefit of not less than Rs. 6, 000.

- Published/Last Modified on: November 18, 2015


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.