National Data and Analytics Platform

⪻ Articles ⪼

The National Data and Analytics (NDAP) platform has been launched by the NITI Aayog on 13th May, 2022. The platform aims to democratize access to public government data by making data accessible, interoperable, interactive, and available on a user-friendly platform.

National Data and Analytics Platform

About NDAP

  • It hosts foundational datasets from various government agencies, presents them coherently, and provides tools for analytics and visualization.
  • NDAP follows a use-case-based approach to ensure that the datasets hosted on the platform are tailored to the needs of data users from government, academia, journalism, civil society, and the private sector.
  • All datasets are standardized to a common schema, which makes it easy to merge datasets and do cross-sectoral analysis.

Features of NDAP

  • Accessibility: The platform makes data more accessible by hosting data in clean, machine-readable formats, ensuring datasets are interoperable, and providing detailed documentation on the contents of each dataset.
  • Use case-based Approach: It follows a use-case based approach to ensure that the datasets hosted on the platform are tailored to the needs of data users from government, academia, journalism, civil society and the private sector.

Types of Datasets Available

  • Internal & External Affairs
  • Agriculture, Fisheries and Animal Husbandry
  • Socio-Economic development
  • Power & Natural Resources
  • Industries
  • Finance
  • Health
  • Human Resources Development
  • Science and Technology
  • Consumer Affairs
  • Transport
  • Housing
  • Culture and Tourism
  • Communications

Need of Such Data

  • The rise of data and digital technologies are rapidly transforming economies and societies, with enormous implications for governments′ daily operations.
  • NDAP is a critical milestone – which aims to aid India՚s progress by promoting data-driven disclosure, decision making and ensuring the availability of data connecting till the last mile.

NITI Aayog (National Institution for Transforming India)

  • The NITI Aayog was formed on January 1,2015. In Sanskrit, the word NITI means morality, behaviour, guidance, etc. But, in the present context, it means policy and the NITI stands for National Institution for Transforming India
  • It is the country՚s premier policy-making institution that is expected to bolster the economic growth of the country.
  • It aims to construct a strong state that will help to create a dynamic and strong nation. This helps India to emerge as a major economy in the world.

The NITI Aayog՚s creation has two hubs called Team India Hub and Knowledge and Innovation Hub

  • Team India: It leads to the participation of Indian states with the central government.
  • The Knowledge and Innovation Hub: it builds the institution՚s think tank capabilities.

Objectives of NITI Aayog

  • The active participation of States in the light of national objectives and to provide a framework ‘national agenda’ .
  • To promote cooperative federalism through well-ordered support initiatives and mechanisms with the States on an uninterrupted basis.
  • To construct methods to formulate a reliable strategy at the village level and aggregate these gradually at higher levels of government.
  • An economic policy that incorporates national security interests.
  • To pay special consideration to the sections of the society that may be at risk of not profiting satisfactorily from economic progress.
  • To propose strategic and long-term policy and programme frameworks and initiatives, and review their progress and their effectiveness.
  • To grant advice and encourage partnerships between important stakeholders and national-international Think Tanks, as well as educational and policy research institutions.

Administrative Skeletal

  • Chairperson: Prime Minister
  • Vice-Chairperson: To be appointed by Prime-Minister
  • Governing Council: Chief Ministers of all states and Lt. Governors of Union Territories.
  • Regional Council: To address specific regional issues, Comprising Chief Ministers and Lt. Governors Chaired by Prime Minister or his nominee.
  • Ad-hoc Membership: 2 members in ex-officio capacity from leading Research institutions on rotational basis.
  • Ex-Officio membership: Maximum four from Union council of ministers to be nominated by Prime minister.
  • Chief Executive Officer: Appointed by Prime-minister for a fixed tenure, in rank of Secretary to Government of India.
  • Special Invitees: Experts, Specialists with domain knowledge nominated by Prime-minister.

Examrace Team at