National Disaster Management Plan Released (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for IAS is prepared by world's top subject experts: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 162.96 K)

The National Disaster Management Plan (NDMP) has been released by Prime Minister Narendra Modi with the aim to make India disaster strong and reduce loss of lives. This is first of its kind of national plan which is based on the four important themes of the “Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015 - 30” and they are:

  1. Understanding disaster risk
  2. Improving disaster risk governance
  3. Investing in disaster risk reduction (through structural and non-structural measures) and
  4. Disaster preparedness, early warning and building back better in the aftermath of a disaster.

Features of the Plan

  • All phases of disaster management covered in the plan such as prevention, response, mitigation and recovery.
  • It provides for perpendicular and horizontal addition among all the Government activities and departments.
  • It also affects the title role and responsibilities of all levels of Government right up to Urban Local Body (ULB) and Panchayat level in a matrix format.
  • The plan has a regional approach, which will be advantage for disaster management and also for development planning.
  • It is designed in way that can be implemented in all phases of disaster management in a scalable manner.
  • The plan also recognizes major actions such as early warning, medical care, information dissemination, fuel, search and rescue, transportation, evacuation, etc. to serve a specification for activities answering to a disaster.
  • It also offers a general framework for retrieval and offers litheness to assess a condition and build back better.
  • It highlights a better need for Information, Education and Communication actions to make communities to cope with disasters.
  • The plan includes provisions for establishment disaster risk governance and places down six thematic areas.
  • They are combined and mainstream disaster risk reduction, promoting participatory approach, capacity development, working with elected representatives, grievance redress mechanism and promoting quality standards, certification and awards for disaster risk management.


  • Section 11 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005 has been instructed by the National Disaster Management Plan.
  • The national plan must lay down the rules for training of state-level disaster management plans as well as plans by each Central ministry and department according to the Act.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 3, 2016

Govt. Schemes/Projects

Developed by: