National Waterway-4 Explained (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 405.96 K)

The Kakinada-Puducherry stretch of canals and the Kaluvelly tank, Bhadrachalam-Rajahmundry stretch of river Godavari and Wazirabad - Vijayawada stretch of river Krishna with a total length of 1,078 kms was declared as National Waterway-4 (NW-4) in 2008.

Image Of National Waterway

Image Of National Waterway

Image Of National Waterway

The stretch was further extended up to Nashik in case of Godavari and upto Galagali in case of river Krishna, in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry under the National Waterways Act, 2016.

About National Highway- 4

  • National Waterway 4 (NW-4) is a 1,095 kilometres (680 mi) long waterway in India.

  • It has been declared as an Indian National Waterway and is currently under development. It connects the Indian states of Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, and the union territory of Puducherry.

  • The NW-4 runs along the Coro Mandal Coast through Kakinada, Eluru, Commanur, Buckingham Canals & also through part of Krishna and Godavari rivers in South India.

  • It was declared a National Waterway on 24 November 2008 under the Provisions of National Waterways Bill, 2006.

  • It is being developed by the Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI), and was scheduled for completion by 2013.

  • The National Waterways Act, 2016 has extended the length of NW-4 from 1,078 km (670 mi) to 2,890 km (1,800 mi) by connecting the Krishna and Godavari Rivers.

Completion of the Work

The length of NW-4 is 2890 kms and it is planned to be developed in three phases: -

  1. Phase-I: - Vijayawada to Muktyala stretch of Krishna River.

  2. Phase-II: - Kakinada to Vijayawada and Rajahmundry to Polavaram after completion of Phase-I.

  3. Phase-III: - Remaining stretches of NW-4 after completion of Phase-I and Phase-II

  • Development work of Phase-I of NW-4at a cost of Rs. 96 crore has already commenced. The Status of work for development of fairway and terminals is as follows:

    Table Of Fairway and Terminals

    Table Of Fairway and Terminals

    Sl. No.




    Dredging from Vijayawada to Muktyala.

    In progress with scheduled completion by June, 2019


    Four Floating Terminals at –

    1. DurgaGhat

    2. Bhavani Island

    3. Amravati

    4. Vedadri

    Establishment of floating terminals to be completed by March, 2019.


    Three Fixed Terminals at –

    1. Ibrahimpatnam

    2. Harischandrapuram

    3. Muktyala

    Land acquisition for the construction of terminals is in progress in consultation with the Government of Andhra Pradesh.

  • Ro-Ro Services between Ibrahimpatnam & Lingayapalam, for transportation of construction materials on NW-4 (river Krishna) is already under operation, which is on similar lines to that of Dhubri and Hatsingimari.

National Waterways in India

  • In India, the national waterways are developed by the central government through the Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI) - the regulatory body for the Inland Waterways Transport (IWT) sector.

  • IWAI was set up by the Inland Waterways Authority of India Act in 1985 and given responsibility of development, maintenance, and regulation of national waterways in the country.

  • It is a statutory autonomous body for regulating and developing navigation and shipping in the inland waterways.

  • The government also declared the following inland waterways as national waterways:

  1. NW-4: Kakinada-Pondicherry canals along with Godavari and Krishna rivers (1,095 km (680 mi) )

  2. NW-5: East Coast Canal along with Brahmani river and Mahanadi delta (623 km (387 mi) )

  3. NW-6: River Barak (152 km (94 mi) )

- Published/Last Modified on: February 18, 2019

Govt. Schemes/Projects

Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.