New Manipur Governor: Najma Heptulla (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

Former Union Minister Dr Najma Heptulla appointed as 18th Governor of Manipur by President Pranab Mukherjee after she resigned as a Union Minority Affairs Minister in the Union Cabinet of NDA Government in July 2016. She has succeeded Shanmuganathan because he was serving as Governor of Manipur and Meghalaya.

Other appointment

  • Banwarilal Purohit a three-time former member of Lok Sabha from Nagpur and Managing Editor of Central India՚s daily ‘The Hitavada’ as Governor of Assam.
  • VP Singh Badnore as Governor of Punjab.
  • Jagdish Mukhi a Delhi-based BJP leader and former MLA from Delhi as Deputy Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Constitutional Provisions of Governor

Article 153

  • According to this Article there shall be Governor for each state.
  • But 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956 allowed appointment of single person as a governor for two or more states.

Article 156

  • President can appoint the Governor.
  • Governor holds office during the pleasure of President.
  • Governor shall hold office for 5 years term from date he/she enters upon his office.

About Najma Heptulla

Dr. Najma Akbarali Heptulla
  • Dr. Najma Akbarali Heptulla an Indian politician was born on 13th April 1940.
  • She had served as a former vice-president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) , and a five time member of the Rajya Sabha, the Upper House of the Indian parliament from 1986 to 2012.
  • She is also a Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha for sixteen years.

- Published/Last Modified on: August 22, 2016

Govt. Schemes/Projects

Developed by: