Paul Beatty Wins Man Booker Prize (Booker Prize) 2016

⪻ On New Articles ⪼

Paul Beatty wins the Man Booker Prize 2016 to become the first American writer to win this honor. He is a 54 year old and bestowed with this award for his racial satirical novel ‘The Sellout’ . Paul՚s Wins for this award was announced at the ceremony in London՚s Guildhall.

Paul Beatty

The Sellout tells the story of a young black man who tries to reinstate servitude and racial segregation in a suburb of Los Angeles.

About Paul Beatty

  • Paul Beatty born in Los Angeles in 1962 and he is an author from United States of America (USA) .
  • Beatty is a graduate of El Camino Real High School in Woodland Hills, California of 1980.
  • Paul received a MFA in creative writing from Brooklyn College and MA in psychology from Boston University.
  • His novels:
    • The White Boy Shuffle (1996)
    • Tuff (2000) ,
    • Slumberland (2008)
    • The Sellout (2015)
  • In 2016, Betty was awarded with the National Book Critics Circle Award.

About Man Booker Prize

  • Man Booker prize for fiction generally known as Booker-McConnell Prize and simply known as Booker Prize.
  • This award is world՚s most prestigious English-language literary award.
  • Man Booker prize was first given in 1969 and presented by the Man Group.
  • This is awarded for Best original novel, written in the English language and published in the UK.
  • Only citizens of Commonwealth, Irish, and Zimbabwean were eligible to receive the prize.
  • List of 2011 to 2016 winners is:
Table Contains Shows List of 2011 to 2016 Winners
2011Julian BarnesThe Sense of an EndingUK
2012Hilary MantelBring Up the BodiesUK
2013Eleanor CattonThe LuminariesNew Zealand
2014Richard FlanaganThe Narrow Road to the Deep NorthAustralia
2015Marlon JamesA Brief History of Seven KillingsJamaica
2016Paul BeattyThe SelloutUSA

Developed by: