Presidential Election of India to Be Held on 17th July 2017 (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 210.35 K)

The next Presidential election of India will be held on 17th July 2017 as announce by Election Commission and in this regard the nomination process will starts from 14th June. 28th June will be last day for submitting the nominations and candidates can withdraw their nominations from election till 1st July.

  • If parties will chose the president by then the election will not take place but currently parties are not showing unanimity consensus so the list of serious candidates will be declared on 1st July.
  • On 20th July the cote counting process will be started in New Delhi.
  • Counting of votes will take place in New Delhi.
  • Term of Current President Pranab Mukherjee will be ends on 24th July.
  • Cabinet ministers M Venkaiah Naidu, Sushma Swaraj, Thawar Chand Gehlot and Jharkhand governor Draupadi Murmu are assumed nominees for Precedent.

Overview of Precedent election activates

Table Contain Shows the Overview of Precedent election activates

Table Contain Shows the Overview of Precedent election activates



Registration of nomination starts from

14th June

Last date of submitting nominations

28th June

Candidates can withdraw their nominations till

1st July

Date of Precedent election

17th July

Vote counting will starts form

20th July

New Precedent will be in Office from

25th (July most Probably)

Election process of Precedent of India

  • The presidential election is drawn under the articles 54 - 59 of the Constitution and according to the article president will be elected by an electoral college.
  • Electoral College has elected members from both Houses of Parliament and Legislative Assemblies of all states which means all members of the central and state legislatures are part of the but Nominated members of Parliament, nominated members of the Legislative Assemblies, and members of the Legislative Council are not part of Electoral College.
  • Eligibility for Precedent are:
  1. Citizen of India
  2. Age must be above 35 years.
  3. Must be qualified member of the Lok Sabha
  4. Must not hold an office of profit

The Precedential election is based on following two things:

1. proportional representation:

  • The value of votes of each members of the electoral college is different.
  • Such as for an MLA, it is dependent on the population of their state and the number of elected members in Legislative Assembly of their state.
  • According to the Financial Express the value of each state is different such as Uttar Pradesh (208) and Goa (8).
  • The value of MP is depends on the total value of the votes of all MLAs and the number of elected MPs current fixed value is 708.
  • This year’s eligible voters are 4, 120 MLAs and 776 MPs total 4, 896 voters.

2. The system incorporates preferential voting

  • These electors not only choose the best candidate but also signify their preference regarding the others, if elector’s first preference does not win, the rest of their vote influence the election.

So for 2017 presidential election the candidates must have (4, 896/2) +1 — 2, 449 votes in their favour.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 14, 2017


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.