Radhika Menon: First Woman to Receive Exceptional Bravery Award at Sea [ ]


Radhika Menon will become the first woman in the world to receive the Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea for 2016, from the International Maritime Organisation (IMO). Radhika Menon will be awarded for saving the lives of seven fishermen, whose hopes of survival were all but over.

Image of Radhika Menon

Image of Radhika Menon

Showing image of Radhika Menon

  • Captain Menon had displayed great determination and courage in leading the difficult rescue operation in the Bay of Bengal in June 2015.
  • She was chosen by 116th session of IMO Council meeting held in London.
  • She had saved all seven fishermen from the fishing boat Durgamma, which was loose following engine failure and loss of anchor in severe weather.
  • For this courage she was nominated for the award by the Government of India.
  • The Awards ceremony is expected to take place at IMO Headquarters on November 21 at the end of the first day of the Maritime Safety Committee (MSC).

About Radhika Menon

  • As a trainee radio officer, she had joined the Shipping Corporation of India (SCI) in 1991.
  • Radhika Menon native is Kodungallur in Kerala.
  • She arisen the hierarchy by clearing exams for the posts of second mate and chief mate and did the sea time required to appear for the master’s certificate in 2010.
  • Radhika Menon had made history by becoming the first woman to become captain of Indian Merchant Navy in 2011.
  • She took charge of MT Suvarna Swarajya in 2012.

About award:

  • Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea is an annual Award established by IMO.
  • To provide international recognition for those who, at the risk of losing their own life and perform acts of exceptional bravery.
  • Displaying outstanding courage in attempting to save life at sea or in attempting to prevent or diminish damage to the marine environment.

- Published/Last Modified on: July 11, 2016