Real Estate Act: Govt Notifies Rules for 5 Union Territories (UTs)- Important (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

The Union Ministry of Housing has notified the Real Estate (Regulation and Development) (General) Rules, 2016, to be applicable to the five Union Territories. The Act regulates the housing sector to bring transparency and ensuring timely completion of projects in UTs.

Act dictates setting up of Real Estate Regulatory Authorities (RERA) and Real Estate Appellate Tribunals (REAT) by the end of April 2017.

Five Union Territories include:

  1. Andaman & Nicobar Islands
  2. Chandigarh
  3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  4. Daman & Diu
  5. Lakshadweep
Real Estate

About Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Act 2016

  • Ministry of Urban Development will come out with such rules for the National Capital Region of Delhi while the other States and UTs will come out with their own rules.
  • The Act regulates the large Indian real estate sector- requires registration of all projects with state-level Real Estate Regulatory Authorities ensuring protection of the interests of both buyers and builders.
  • The Real Estate (Regulation & Development) Act, 2016 was partly brought into effect on 1st May 2016.

- Published/Last Modified on: September 6, 2017


Developed by: