S Sivakumar Appointed as New Law Commission Member (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 197.06 K)

S. Sivakumar, professor at the Indian Law Institute in New Delhi is appointed as full-time member of the 21st Law Commission of India (LCI). He specializes in Media and Administrative Law. In 2008 he received National Law Day award.

S. Sivakumar is expert in:

  • Constitutional Law
  • IPR
  • Human Rights
  • ADR
  • Clinical Legal Education
Image of S. Sivakumar

Image of S. Sivakumar

Image of S. Sivakumar

21st Law commission of India

  • Constituted for a 3 year period from 1st September, 2015 till 31st August, 2018.
  • Former Supreme Court Judge Justice Balbir Singh Chauhan is the chairperson of the commission.
  • Since 1955, Law commissions have submitted 262 reports on various subjects to the government present Law commission has not submitted any report.
  • Previous chairperson Justice AP Shah submitted last report on 31st august, 2015.

Commission has been asked to give recommendations on

  • Indian Penal Code (IPC)
  • The criminal justice system
  • The bail law to ensure uniformity in the procedure.
  • Viability of the Uniform Civil Code
  • Repealing of obsolete laws

About Law Commission of India

  • Law Commission of India is a non-statutory and non-constitutional  body
  • Works for legal reform to maximize Justice in Society and promoting good governance under the rule of Law
  • Constituted by the Union Government from time to time
  • Formation: First 1834
  • Purpose: Law Reform in India
  • Type: Agency of Government of India


  1. Chairman
  2. 1 Permanent Member
  3. 1 Member Secretary
  4. 2 Part-time Members
  5. 2 ex- Officio Members
  • Current Chairman: Justice B. S. Chauhan (21st Law Commission)

- Published/Last Modified on: October 3, 2016


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.