SAARC countries’ talks on Disaster Mitigation in New Delhi


About SAARC Countries: Also known as South Asian Association on Regional Cooperation. It is an economic and organization of 8 countries that are primarily located in South Asia or the Indian subcontinent.

  • Its headquarters are in Kathmandu in Nepal.
  • The combined economy of SAARC is the 3rd largest in the world in the terms of GDP after the United States and China and 5th largest in the terms of nominal GDP (GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT. )
  • SAARC countries include 3 % of the world’s area and contain 21 % of the world’s total population and around 9.12 % of Global economy as of 2015.
  • The SAARC policies aim to promote welfare economics, collective self - reliance among the countries of South Asia, and to accelerate socio - cultural development in the region.
  • The main motto is to spread the level of preparedness and risk resilience among fellow countries and also conjoint action against disaster situations and ensure minimal loss of lives and property.

About the conference in New Delhi about disaster moderation:

  • Conference began in New Delhi on 3rd September 2015.
  • The main reason for this conference is to widespread geo - climatic conditions as well as increased frequency of natural disaster and calamities in the SAARC region.
  • It is also being held on the behalf of the recent Nepal earthquake in April 2015.
  • India has taken the lead to begin South Asian Annual Disaster Management Exercise (SAADMEx), simulation exercises on disaster management in the region. In this regard, India has requested all SAARC countries to participate in this exercise.
  • This aims at enlarging current levels of individual and joint preparedness of member countries in the rescue, relief and response operations during disaster situations and is done in two phases.

- Published/Last Modified on: September 15, 2015