Sale of Liquor Banned by Bihar Government from 1StApril 2016

⪻ Articles ⪼

Sale of liquor has banned by Bihar Government in the state from 1st April 2016. As per this decision Bihar will become 6th dry state/UT in the India. On liquor prohibition day Chief Minister of Bihar Nitish Kumar announced banned on sale of liquor.

Bihar as Alcohol Free Area
  • Mr. Kumar has taken this decision in lines pledge during the 2015 assembly elections to ban liquor if voted to power again.
  • Ruling government does not want a corresponding alcohol economy in the state, so implement the ban state government officials of the excise department are working on new liquor policy

Presently, alcohol drinking is banned in the following states

  • Gujarat from 1958
  • Nagaland from 1989
  • Manipur from 1991
  • Kerala from 2014 and
  • Union Territory of Lakshadweep

Examrace Team at