Seismic Zones in India (Important) (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 309.49 K)

Earthquake-prone areas identified based on seismicity, past earthquakes, and tectonic setup of the region. Bureau of Indian Standards has grouped the country into four seismic zones: Zone II, III, IV and V. Of these, Zone V is seismically the most active, while zone II is the least.

Image of Seismic Zones in India

Image of Seismic Zones in India

Image of Seismic Zones in India

  • Zone - V comprises entire northeastern India, parts of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Rann of Kutch in Gujarat, part of North Bihar and Andaman & Nicobar Islands.
  • Zone - IV covers remaining parts of Jammu and Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh, National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi, Sikkim, Northern Parts of Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal, parts of Gujarat and small portions of Maharashtra near the west coast and Rajasthan.
  • Zone – III comprises Kerala, Goa, Lakshadweep islands, remaining parts of Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal, Parts of Punjab, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamilnadu and Karnataka
  • Zone - II covers remaining parts of country.

These studies involve geological, geomorphologic and land use maps followed by drilling, geological logging, standard penetration test and geophysical studies to demarcate least and most damage prone zones within the urban areas. They help the town and country planning agencies with earthquake impact minimization.

Earthquake Mitigation

  • Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) published criterion for construction of earthquake resistant structures. It has also prepared guidelines for retrofitting in existing structures.
  • Housing and Urban Development Corporation (HUDCO) & Building Materials & Technology Promotion Council (BMTPC) has also published guidelines for construction and retrofitting of buildings.
  • National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA), Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Ministry of Earth Sciences educate general public and school children on earthquakes, their impact, and measures to mitigate losses.
  • A National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) under NDMA provides specialized response to natural and man-made disasters.

What is BIS?

  • The Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is the national Standards Body of India working under Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution.
  • Established by the Bureau of Indian Standards Act, 1986 in December 1986.
  • BIS is involved in various activities:

    • Standards Formulation
    • Product Certification Scheme
    • Compulsory Registration Scheme
    • Foreign Manufacturers Certification Scheme
    • Hall Marking Scheme
    • Laboratory Services
    • Laboratory Recognition Scheme

- Published/Last Modified on: September 6, 2017


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.