Shri Achal Kumar Joti takes over as new Chief Election Commissioner of India (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 337.49 K)

Shri Achal Kumar Joti has assumed charge as the 21st Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India, succeeding Dr. Nasim Zaidi making it the clear his commitment to hold free, fair, inclusive and credible elections throughout the country and ensuring that “No Voter to be Left Behind”.

  • Commission would actively promote e-Governance for holding of elections to the State Assemblies and Parliamentary Elections in the country.
Image of Shri Achal Kumar Joti

Image of Shri Achal Kumar Joti

Image of Shri Achal Kumar Joti

About Shri Achal Kumar Joti

  • Served as Election Commissioner since 13th May, 2015.
  • Conducted State Assembly elections in the States of Bihar, Assam, West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Puducherry, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakand, Manipur and Goa
  • Took IT initiatives:

    • One for service voters through Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS)
    • National Voter Service Portal (NVSP) - an e-portal for easy registration of eligible voters
    • Voter awareness and educational initiatives and stringent expenditure monitoring mechanism
  • Shri Joti earlier served as a longtime Civil Servant of Indian Administrative Service (1975 Batch)
  • He also served superannuated as Chief Secretary to the Government of Gujarat in January 2013 after completing a three-year tenure

- Published/Last Modified on: July 21, 2017


Doorsteptutor material for CLAT GK-Current-Affairs is prepared by worlds top subject experts- fully solved questions with step-by-step exaplanation- practice your way to success.

Developed by: