South China Sea Framework Finish by Mid of 2017 (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 188.16 K)

According to recent agreement between China and ten member countries of Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) a framework for a code of conduct to ease tension in disputed South China Sea will formed by mid of 2017.

  • At the meeting held in Inner Mongolia of northern China on 15 and 16 August 2016 both China and ASEAN has signed the agreement after a long discussion which was started in 2010 by China and member countries of ASEAN.
  • This agreement will be important step for China and ASEAN bloc after Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA) ruling against China in July 2016.
  • According to the arbitration court, China has no historical title over the disputed South China Sea and it has broken the Philippines sovereign rights but China had not accepted the ruling and recommended bilateral talks on this

Key Facts

  • The agreement includes sea rules and also hotline guidelines to avoid conflicts in maritime emergencies.
  • Both are agreed to form the framework for the code by mid-2017and also to implement unplanned maritime encounters which was signed in 2014 by countries in the region which is applied to the South China Sea.


  • Since 2010, China and the 10 members of ASEAN discussing rules to avoiding conflict in rival claimants during waterway in South China Sea.
  • The main reason behind this agreement is according to historical assumptions China claimed the entire South China Sea as part of China and at member countries of ASEAN also claimed their rights on the sea from where annually more than $5 trillion of trade moves and which will be rich in energy deposits.


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional organization of ten Southeast Asian states for intergovernmental cooperation and facilitates economic integration between them.

Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand had established ASEAN on 8th August 1967 and letter Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar (Burma), and Vietnam had joined the organization as member countries.

Aims of ASEAN:

  • Accelerating economic growth
  • Social progress
  • Sociocultural evolution between member countries and regional stability safety
  • Various provision of a mechanism to discuss differences

Current Members of ASEAN:

  1. Brunei Darussalam
  2. Cambodia
  3. Indonesia
  4. Laos
  5. Malaysia
  6. Myanmar
  7. Philippines
  8. Singapore
  9. Thailand
  10. Vietnam
Image of Current Members of ASEAN

Image of Current Members of ASEAN

Image of Current Members of ASEAN

- Published/Last Modified on: August 22, 2016


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.