Steve Smith has won ICC Cricketer of the year


ICC Cricketer of the Year award has been won by Australian captain Steve Smith at ICC Awards ceremony held at Dubai. Smith has done leading run-scorer in Tests with 1, 734 runs in 25 innings of 13 matches at an average of 82.57. This included seven centuries and six half-centuries.

  • In 26 One-Day Internationals, Smith scored 1, 249 runs at an average of just under 60 with four centuries and eight half-centuries.
  • Smith was also named the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.

About Steve Smith

  • He was born on 2 June 1989 in Sydney, Australia.
  • He had debuted in 2010 agents West Indies
  • Represents Australia, New South Wales Blues, and Sydney Sixes.
  • He is currently the captain of the Australia national cricket team in Test & ODI formats.
  • He was initially selected for Australia as an all-rounder who could bowl right-arm leg spin; Smith now plays primarily as a batsman.

About ICC Awards

  • The ICC Awards is a set of sports awards for cricket.
  • The awards recognize and honor the best international cricket players of the previous 12 months.
  • The Awards has been institutionalized by International Cricket Council since 2004

- Published/Last Modified on: December 23, 2015