Western Zonal Council Meeting Held in Mumbai - Important

⪻ Articles ⪼

Western Zonal Council՚s 22nd meeting was held at Mumbai, Maharashtra. This meeting was held under the leadership of Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh. Chief Ministers, Ministers of States and Union Territories administrators as well as senior officers of Union and State Governments attended this meeting. Western Zonal Council critically discusses the affairs of following states:

  • Maharashtra
  • Gujarat
  • Goa
  • Union Territories of Daman & Diu
  • Dadra & Nagar Haveli

Map of Zonal Council՚s

Location of Zonal Council՚s

Key Aspects

  • Council discussed the issues related to:
    • Internal security.
    • Coastal security.
    • Formulation of plans for countering terrorism.
    • Issuance of biometric identity cards to anglers and card readers.
    • Status of modernization of police force
  • It also discussed other important issues:
    • Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojna (Urban) Mission.
    • Providing shelters to the urban homeless through surplus lands of Union Government to fulfill ‘Housing for All: 2022’ .
    • Checking pollution in Daman Ganga River and Kolak River due to discharge of untreated wastes from Vapi industrial area.

About Zonal Councils

  • Zonal Councils were set up under the States Reorganization Act, 1956
  • It is a non-constitutional body to raise Inter-State co-operation and co-ordination among the States. Watch the following you tube video to understand more about non constitutional, statutory and parliamentary bodies:
Niti Ayog (Non-Constitutional, Non-Statutory)-Objectives, Action Plan & Structure - IAS GS 2016
  • There are total five zonal councils including:
    • Northern Zonal Council: Chandigarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab and Rajasthan.
    • Western Zonal Council: Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Goa, Gujarat and Maharashtra.
    • Eastern Zonal Council: Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Sikkim and West Bengal.
    • North-Central Zonal Council: Bihar, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.
    • Southern Zonal Council: Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, and Telangana.
  • These council meetings are mandated. They discuss and make recommendations in field of:
    • Social and economic planning
    • Border disputes or inter-State transport
    • Linguistic minorities etc.
  • These councils provide regional opportunities of cooperative endeavor for States, which are linked with each other economically, politically and culturally.

North Eastern Council

  • In these 5 zonal Councils Northeastern states are not included.
  • Their special problems are looked after by North Eastern Council set up under the North Eastern Council Act, 1972 and headed by Union Home Minister.
  • North Eastern Council includes Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Tripura.

Examrace Team at