Winners of 2016 Wimbledon Championships of Tennis


2016 Wimbledon Championships was a tennis tournament held from 27 June to 10 July 2016. It was the 130th edition of the championships and the 49th edition in the Open Era. The tournament had taken place at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon, London, United Kingdom.

Image shows the Wimbledon Championships

Image shows the Wimbledon Championships

Showing image of Wimbledon Championships

  • The tournament was organized by All England Lawn Tennis Club and International Tennis Federation (ITF).
  • It is included in the 2016 ATP World Tour and the 2016 WTA Tour calendars under the Grand Slam category.
  • The tournament consisted of:
  • Men’s (singles and doubles)
  • Women’s (singles and doubles)
  • Mixed doubles, boys (under 18 – singles and doubles) and girls (under 18 – singles and doubles),

Men’s Singles Title

  • Britain’s Andy Murray won the 2016 Wimbledon title in men’s singles category.
  • He had won it for first time in 2013 and it was his second Wimbledon title
  • In final match he overcome Canada’s Milos Raonic by 6–4, 7–6 (7–3), 7–6 (7–2) score.

Women’s Singles Title

  • United States of Serena Williams has won 2016 Wimbledon title in women’s singles category.
  • It is Williams’ seventh Women’s Singles Wimbledon title (2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2015) and overall 22nd Grand Slam title.
  • She defeated Germany’s Angelique Kerber by 7–5, 6–3 score in the final match.

Men’s Doubles Title

  • French pair of Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut won the 2016 Wimbledon title in the men’s doubles category.
  • They defeated French pair Julien Benneteau and Edouard Roger-Vasselin by 6–4, 7–6 (7–1), 6–3 score in the final match.

Women’s Doubles Title

  • Serena Williams and Venus Williams pair of US won the 2016 Wimbledon title in the women’s doubles category.
  • Timea Babos (Hungary) and Yaroslava Shvedova (Kazakhstan) pair they defeated by 6–3, 6–4 score.

Mixed Doubles Title

  • In the mixed doubles category Henri Kontinen (Finland) and Heather Watson (United Kingdom) pair won the 2016 Wimbledon title.
  • In the match they defeated Robert Farah (Colombia) and Anna-Lena Gronefeld (Germany) pair by 7–6 (7–5), 6–4 score.

- Published/Last Modified on: July 11, 2016