With Special Statue Switzerland Government Honors Yash Chopra (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 265.69 K)

Late veteran filmmaker Yash Chopra has been honored by Switzerland Government with unveiling of bronze statue at Interlaken which weighing about 250 kilos. It was inaugurated by his wife Pamela Chopra and daughter-in-law Rani Mukherjee.

Image of Yash Chopra Statue

Image of Yash Chopra Statue

Yash Chopra honored by Switzerland Government

  • Chopra was well known for opening a birthright of South Asian travelers flocking to Switzerland and pass much time in the country in addition shooting his movies.
  • And this statue has been put in at the heart of Interlaken, private the Kursaal area near the Congress Centre which is a prime, general spot with travelers.
  • Previously government of Interlaken awarded him the honorary title of Ambassador of Interlaken and Jungfrau Railways had named a train after him in 2011 and an honour shared only with the railway’s founder, Adolf Guyer.
  • And this was not the first time the filmmaker has been honoured in this way by the Switzerland Government.

About Yash Chopra

  • Yash Raj Chopra was born on 27th September 1932.
  • He was an Indian film director, script writer and film producer, predominantly working in Hindi cinema.
  • As an assistant director to I. S. Johar and elder brother, B. R. Chopra he has begun his career.
  • With Dhool Ka Phool in 1959 he made his directorial debut, a melodrama about illegitimacy, and after that the social drama Dharmputra (1961).
  • The Chopra brothers made several more movies together during the late fifties and sixties after encouraged by the success of both films.
  • He had gave number of block blaster as director Viz.
  1. Silsila
  2. Kaala Patthar
  3. Kabhi Kabhie
  4. Chandni
  5. Dil To Pagal Hai
  6. Veer-Zaara
  7. Jab Tak Hai Jaan was his last film as director.
  • He had taken his last breath on 21st October 2012

Awards and hours:

  • Filmfare Best Director Award for Waqt in 1965
  • Filmfare Best Director Award for Ittefaq in 1969
  • Filmfare Best Director Award for Daagin 1973
  • Filmfare Best Director Award for Deewarin 1975
  • Filmfare Best Movie Award for Lamhein 1991
  • Filmfare Best Movie Award for Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayengein 1995
  • Filmfare Best Movie Award for Dil To Pagal Haiin 1997
  • Filmfare Best Movie Award for Veer-Zaara in 2004
  • Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013
  • Padma Bhushan in 2005

- Published/Last Modified on: May 9, 2016

Govt. Schemes/Projects

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT GK-Current-Affairs is prepared by worlds top subject experts- fully solved questions with step-by-step exaplanation- practice your way to success.

Developed by: