IAS: Political Science Study Material Council of Ministers

Get top class preparation for UGC right from your home: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 97K)

Council of Ministers

  • It is a wider body consisting of 60 to 70 Ministers.

  • It includes all the three categories of Ministers, that is, Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State, and Deputy Ministers.

  • If it does not meet, as a body, to transact Government business. It has no collective functions.

  • It is vested with all powers but in theory.

  • Its functions are determined by the Cabinet.

  • It implements the decisions taken by the Cabinet.

  • It is a Constitutional body, dealt in detail by the Articles 74 and 75 of the Constitution.

  • Its size and classification are, however, not mentioned in the Constitution.

  • Its size is determined by the Prime Minister according to the exigencies of the time and the requirements of the situation.

  • Its classification in the three tier body is based on the conventions of the Parliamentary form of Government as developed in Britain.

  • It has, however, got a legislative sanction. Thus, the Salaries and Allowances Act of 1952 defines a ‘Minister’ as a member of the Council of Ministers, by whatever name called, and includes a Deputy Minister.

  • It is collectively responsible to the lower house of the Parliament.

Developed by: