IAS Mains-2020 Assamese Syllabus

Click here to read Current Affairs & GS.


The answers must be written in Assamese

Section A

  1. Language

    1. History of the origin and development of the Assamese language-its position among the Indo-Aryan Languages-periods in its history.

    2. Developments of Assamese prose.

    3. Vowels and consonants of the Assamese languages-rules of phonetic changes with stress on Assamese coming down from Old Indo-Aryan.

    4. Assamese vocabulary-and its sources.

    5. Morphology of the language-conjugation-enclitic definitives and pleonastic suffixes.

    6. Dilectical divergences-the standard colloquial and the Kamrupi dialect in particulars.

    7. Assamese scripts-its evolution through the ages till 19th century A. D.

Section B

  1. Literary Criticism and Literary History

    1. Principles of Literary criticism upto New criticism.

    2. Different literary genres.

    3. Development of literary forms in Assamese.

    4. Development of literary criticism in Assamese.

    5. Periods of the literary history of Assam from the earliest beginnings, i.e.. From the period of the charyyageets with their socio-cultural background: The proto Assamese-Pre-Sankaradeva-Sankaradeva-post Sankaradeva-Modern period (from the coming of the Britishers) -Post-Independence period. Special emphasis is to be given on the Vaisnavite period, the gonaki and the post-Independence period.


This paper will require fist-hand reading of the texts prescribed and will be designed to test the candidates'critical ability. The answers must be written in Assamese

Section A

  • Ramayana (Ayodhya Kanda only) -by Madhava Kandali.
  • Parijat-Harana-by Sankaradeva.
  • Rasakrida-by Sankaradeva (From Kirtana Ghosa).
  • Bargeet-by Madhavadeva
  • Rajasuya-by Madhavadeva.
  • Katha-Bhagavata (Books I and II) -by Baikunthanath Bhattacharyya.
  • Gurucarit-Katha (Sankaradeva's Part only) -ed. By Maheswar Neog.

Section B

  • Mor Jeevan Sonwaran-by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.
  • Kripabar Barbaruar Kakatar Topola-by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.
  • Pratima-by Chandra Kumar Agarwalla.
  • Gaonburha-by Padmanath Gohain Barua.
  • Monamati-by Rajanikanta Bordoloi.
  • Purani Asamiya Sahitya-by Banikanta Kakati.
  • Karengar Ligiri-by Jyotiprasad Agarwalla
  • Jeevanar Batat-by Bina Barwa (Birinchi Kumar Barua)
  • Mrityunjoy-by Birendrakumar Bhattachary-ya
  • Samrat-by Navakanta Barua.