IAS Mains-2018 Political Science Syllabus

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 123K)


Political Theory and Indian Politics:

  1. Political Theory: Meaning and approaches.

  2. Theories of the State: Liberal, Neo-liberal, Marxist, Pluralist, Post-colonial and feminist.

  3. Justice: Conceptions of justice with special reference to Rawl's theory of justice and its communitarian critiques.

  4. Equality: Social, political and economic; relationship between equality and freedom; Affirmative action.

  5. Rights: Meaning and theories; different kinds of rights; concept of Human Rights.

  6. Democracy: Classical and contemporary theories; different models of democracy-representative, participatory and deliberative.

  7. Concept of power, hegemony, ideology and legitimacy.

  8. Political Ideologies: Liberalism, Socialism, Marxism, Fascism, Gandhism and Feminism.

  9. Indian Political Thought: Dharamshastra, Arthashastra and Buddhist traditions; Sir Syed Ahmed Khan, Sri Aurobindo, M K Gandhi, B R Ambedkar, M N Roy.

Sail through IAS Mains and Prelims: Fully-explained Prelims (Both GS & Aptitude) problems with detailed solutions. Notes & detailed answers for Mains GS, Essay, and Complulsory (Hindi and English) papers and optionals.