General Knowledge MCQs – Commonly Asked Questions for Exams – Must Know Topics and Concepts Part 12

Online Paper 1 complete video course with Dr. Manishika Jain. Lifetime subscription. Includes tests and expected questions. Join now!

26. Who among the following is the world՚s first woman cosmonaut?

(a) Bachendri Pal

(b) Junko Tabei

(c) Valentina Tereshkova

(d) Sally Ride

Ans: (c)

27. The first person to conduct heart transplantation in India is

(a) Dr PKK Ayyangar

(b) Dr R Valia than

(c) Dr Venugopal

(d) Dr R Kesavan Nair

Ans: (c)

28. Who among the following was the first Defense Minister of India?

(a) KM Cariappa

(b) Sardar Patel

(c) N Gopala swami Ayyangar

(d) Maulana Azad

Ans: (c)

29. Who among the following was the first woman Chief Justice of a High Court?

(a) Geeta Mukherjee

(b) Leila Seth

(c) Sujata Manohar

(d) Rani Jethmalani

Ans: (b)

30. The first Field Marshal of India was

(a) A Vaidya

(b) KM Cariappa

(c) Sunder ji

(d) SHFJ Manekshaw

Ans: (d)

31. The first English newspaper in India was started by

(a) Dadabhai Naoroji

(b) JA Hickey

(c) Lord William Bentinck

(d) Rabindranath Tagore

Ans: (b)

32. Who was the largest serving Chief Minister in India?

(a) Bhajan Lal

(b) Chimanbhai Patel

(c) Jyoti Basu

(d) Hitesh war Saikia

Ans: (c)

33. Who among the following was the first Chief of the Air staff?

(a) Sir Ronald Lvelaw Chapman

(b) H Moolgavkar

(c) Sir Thomas Elmhirst

(d) Sir Gerald Gibbs

Ans: (c)

34. The first President of USA to visit India was

(a) Thomas Jefferson

(b) John F Kennedy

(c) DW Eisenhower

(d) George Washington

Ans: (c)

35. Who among the following was the first woman minister of a state?

(a) Vijayalakshmi Pandit

(b) Sarojini Naidu

(c) Rajkumari Amrit Kaur

(d) Indira Gandhi

Ans: (c)

Awards, Honors and Prizes

1. The Arjuna Awards were instituted in the year

(a) 1965

(b) 1963

(c) 1961

(d) 1975

Ans: (c)

2. Arjuna Award is given for

(a) Bravery on battlefield

(b) Outstanding performance in sports

(c) Exceptional service in emergency

(d) Exceptional service of slum dwellers

Ans: (b)

3. The Kalinga Prize is given by which of the following


(b) Government of India

(c) Jawahar Lal Nehru Peace Foundation

(d) Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

Ans: (a)

4. Kalinga Award is given for

(a) Art

(b) Science

(c) Literature

(d) Sports

Ans: (b)

Developed by: