ICSE Class 10 Political Science Union Legislature MCQ on Indian Parliament Part 1

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for ICSE/Class-10 : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of ICSE/Class-10.

1. What is the minimum age for holding office in the Lok Sabha?

A. 18 Years

B. 21 years

C. 25 Years

D. 30 years

Correct Answer: C

Explanation: He/She should not be less than 25 years of age.

2. A motion of no confidence against the Government can be introduced in:

A. Rajya Sabha

B. Lok Sabha

C. Both A & B

D. Neither A nor B

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: Article 75 of the Constitution says that the council of Minister shall be collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha. It means that the ministry stays in office so long as it enjoys the confidence of majority of members of the Lok Sabha. In other word the Lok Sabha can remove the ministry from office by passing a non-confidence motion. The motion need support of 50 members to be admitted.

3. How many sessions of the Lok Sabha take place in a year?

A. 2

B. 3

C. 4

D. 5

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: There are usually 3 session of Parliament in a year:

1. The Budget Session (February to May)

2. The Monsoon Session (July to September)

3. The Winter Session (November to December)

4. Which of the following is not sessions of the Lok Sabha?

A. Budget Session

B. Monsoon Session

C. Summer Session

D. Winter Session

Correct Answer: C

Explanation: There are usually 3 session of Parliament in a year:

The Budget Session (February to May)

The Monsoon Session (July to September)

The Winter Session (November to December)

5. The budget is also known as:

A. Annual Financial Statement

B. Monthly Financial Statement

C. Receipt and Expenditure Statement

D. Taxation Statement

Correct Answer: A

Explanation: Article 112 of the Constitution requires the government to present to Parliament a statement of estimated receipts and expenditure in respect of every financial year, from April 1 to March 31. This statement is called the annual financial statement. This is also called as Budget. This is always produced for next year.

6. The Parliament of India consists of the following:

A. President

B. Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha

C. Both A and B

D. None of the above

Correct Answer: C

Explanation: Parliament is the “supreme legislative body of India” comprised of the President and the two Houses – Rajya Sabha (the Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (the House of the People) . Without the assent or signature of President no law passed by Parliament can become a law. Final signature is given by President of India.

7. Who decides whether a bill is a Money Bill or not?

A. President

B. Prime Minister

C. Speaker of the Lok Sabha

D. Finance Minister

Correct Answer: C

Explanation: If a dispute arises over the question as to whether a bill is a Money Bill or not, the decision is made by the Speaker. Such a decision is final and cannot be challenged inside or outside the House. Since Money Bill can only be introduced in Lok Sabha and the presiding officer of Lok Sabha is Speaker.