ICSE Class 10 Political Science Union Legislature MCQ on Indian Parliament Part 2

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for ICSE/Class-10 : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of ICSE/Class-10.

8. Which of the following article of the Indian Constitution deals with the constitution of the Parliament of India:

A. Article 73 - 150

B. Article 79 - 122

C. Article 72 - 130

D. Article 78 - 132

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: Articles 79 to 122 in Part V of the Constitution deals with the organization, composition, duration, officers, procedures, privileges, powers and so on of the parliament.

9. The Lok Sabha is also known as

A. Council of states

B. The Upper House

C. The House of the People

D. Parliament

Correct Answer: C

Explanation: The Lok Sabha, or House of the People, is the lower house of India՚s bicameral Parliament, with the upper house being the Rajya Sabha.

10. The chairman of the Rajya Sabha is the

A. President of India

B. Vice President of India

C. Prime Minister of India

D. None of the above

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: The presiding officer of the Rajya Sabha is known as Chairman. The Vice President of India is ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha.

11. The members of Lok Sabha hold office for the term of

A. Two Year

B. Three Year

C. Four Year

D. Five Year

Correct Answer: D

Explanation: Note: The member of Lok Sabha holds the office for the term of 5 Year except during proclamation of emergency. However, while a proclamation of emergency is in operation, this period may be extended by Parliament by law for a period not exceeding one year at a time, and not extending in any case, beyond a period of six months after the proclamation has ceased to operate. After every 5 Year general election is held.

12. The Council of States in India is generally known as:

A. Rajya Sabha

B. Lok Sabha

C. Parliament

D. None of These

Correct Answer: A.

Explanation: The ‘Council of States’ which is also known as Rajya Sabha, a nomenclature that was announced by the chair in the House on the 23rd August, 1954 has its own distinctive features. The origin of the second Chamber can be traced to the Montague-Chelmsford Report of 1918. The Government of India Act, 1919 provided for the creation of a ‘Council of State’ as a second chamber of the then legislature with a restricted franchise which actually came into existence in 1921. The Governor-General was the ex-officio President of the then Council of State. The Government of India Act, 1935, hardly made any changes in its composition.

13. Who Elect the members of the Rajya Sabha?

A. Elected member of Lok Sabha

B. Elected member of Legislative Assembly

C. Both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha

D. None of These

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: The representatives of the States and of the Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha are elected by the method of indirect election. The representatives of each State and two Union territories are elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of that State and by the members of the Electoral College for that Union Territory, as the case may be, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote. The Electoral College for the National Capital Territory of Delhi consists of the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of Delhi, and that for Puducherry consists of the elected members of the Puducherry Legislative Assembly.