ICSE Class 10 Political Science Union Legislature MCQ on Indian Parliament Part 5

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for ICSE/Class-10 : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of ICSE/Class-10.

24. What type of Power is exercised by the parliament of India? (select appropriate option)

A. Legislative, Executive

B. Financial, Judiciary

C. Judiciary, Electoral

D. Legislative, Executive, Judiciary, Financial, Electoral

Correct Answer: D

Explanation: The president is the head of the Indian state. He is the first citizen of India and acts as a symbol of unity, integrity and solidarity of the nation.

According to article 53 of our constitution “the executive power of the union shall be vested in president” and

According to article 74 “there shall be a COM headed by PM to aid and advise the president who shall exercise his functions in accordance with such advice”

He has wide powers which are given below

Executive powers

1. All executive actions of GOI are taken in his name

2. He appoints PM and other ministers and they hold office during his pleasure

3. He appoints attorney general (AG) , CAG, CEC and other election commissioners, chairman and members of UPSC, Governors and so on

4. He directly administers UTs through administrators appointed by him

5. He appoints inter- state council to promote cooperation

6. He can declare any area as scheduled area and has powers with respect to the administration of scheduled areas and tribal areas.

Legislative powers

1. He can summon or prorogue the Parliament and can dissolve the Lok Sabha.

2. He can summon the joint sitting of both the houses of Parliament which is presided by the speaker of the Lok Sabha

3. He nominates 12 members to the Rajya Sabha from amongst persons having special knowledge or practical experience in Literature, science, art and social service

4. He can nominate 2 members to Lok Sabha from Anglo Indian community

5. He can promulgate Ordinance when the parliament is not in session

6. He lays reports of CAG, UPSC, finance commission and others before the parliament

7. He decides on questions as to disqualification of MPs in consultation with the EC

8. He has veto powers under article 111 (like absolute veto, suspensive veto and pocket veto)

9. He may give his assent to bill , Withhold his assent to the bill, Return the bill

Financial powers

1. Money bill can be introduced in the Parliament only with his prior recommendations

2. He causes to be laid before the parliament the union budget

3. He constitutes a finance commission after every 5yrs

Judicial powers

1. Appoints the chief justice and the judges of supreme court and high courts

2. Can seek advice from the Supreme Court on any question of law or fact but the advice tendered by the supreme court is not binding on the president

3. He can grant pardon, reprieve, respite, remit and commute the punishment of any person

Diplomatic powers

1. International treaties and agreement are negotiated and concluded on behalf of the president subject to the approval of parliament.

2. He represents India at international forums and sends and receives diplomats.

Military powers

1. He is the supreme commander of defense forces

2. He appoints the chiefs of defense forces

3. Can declare war or conclude peace subject to approval of parliament

Emergency powers

1. Can declare national emergency under article 352

2. Can declare president՚s rule in states under article 356

3. Can declare financial emergency under article 360