ICSE Class 10 Political Science Union Legislature MCQ on Indian Parliament Part 6

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for ICSE/Class-10 : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of ICSE/Class-10.

25. How many members can be nominated to Lok Sabha by President?

A. 0

B. 1

C. 2

D. 3

Correct Answer: C


(2 Anglo Indian can be nominated if they are not represented properly)

Not more than two members of the Anglo-Indian Community to be nominated by the Hon ′ ble President, if, in his/her opinion, that community is not adequately represented in the House

26. What is the maximum gap/interval between two sessions of parliament?

A. 30 days

B. 50 days

C. 6 months

D. 12 months

Correct Answer: C

Explanation: A session of the Parliament refers to the time between commencement of the session and its prorogation, dissolution or end of normal term. The maximum gap between two sessions can be 6 months, which means that Parliament should meet at least twice a year

27. The law created by a legislature is called?

A. Money Bill

B. Legislation or statutory law

C. Budget

D. None of the above

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: Statutory law or statute law is the laws that are created for the legislation. A formal act of legislation given in the written form is called a statute. While legislation definition is given as a kind of assembly that has the power to amend, pass, and repeal laws

28. Which among the following has the power to legislate on the matters which are neither in the Union List, nor in the State list nor in the Concurrent list of the Constitution of India?

A. Parliament

B. State Legislatures

C. Both State legislatures and Parliament

D. Neither Parliament nor State legislature

Correct Answer: A

Explanation: Thus, Article 248 and Entry 97 of the Union List of Constitution of India assign the residuary powers of legislation exclusively to the union If no entry in any of the three lists covers a piece of legislation , it must be regarded as a matter not enumerated in any of the three lists, and belonging exclusively to parliament under entry 97, list I by virtue of Art. 248. In other words, the scope and extent of Article 248 is identified with that of entry 97, list I.

But the scope of the residuary powers is restricted. This is because the three lists viz Union, State and Concurrent cover all possible subjects. Then, the court can also decide whether a subject matter falls under the residuary power or not. The rationale behind the residual power is to enable the parliament to legislate on any subject, which has escaped the scrutiny of the house, and the subject which is not recognizable at present. But, the framers of constitution intended that recourse to residuary powers should be the last resort, and not the first step.

29. What is the tenure of individual Rajya Sabha members?

A. 3 years

B. 4 years

C. 5 years

D. 6 years

Correct Answer: D

Explanation: Rajya Sabha is a permanent body and is not subject to dissolution. However, one third of the members retire every second year, and are replaced by newly elected members. Each member is elected for a term of six years.

30. What is the Quorum required for functioning of either house of Parliament?

A. 1/ 10th

B. 1/ 5th

C. 2/ 3rd

D. 1/ 3rd

Correct Answer: A

Explanation: Article 100 of the Constitution specifies that a minimum one-tenth of the MPs need to be present for either House of Parliament to conduct its business. The first is that after the proceedings of a House have started, quorum is assumed till the House continues functioning