ICSE Class 10 Political Science Union Legislature MCQ on Indian Parliament Part 7

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for ICSE/Class-10 : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of ICSE/Class-10.

31. Which among the following is the basis of representation in Rajya Sabha for States?

A. Area

B. Population

C. Both A & B

D. Neither A nor B

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: The Fourth Schedule to the Constitution provides for allocation of seats to the States and Union Territories in Rajya Sabha. The allocation of seats is made on the basis of the population of each State. Consequent on the reorganization of States and formation of new States, the number of elected seats in the Rajya Sabha allotted to States and Union Territories has changed from time to time since 1952

32. New All India services can be initiated in India only if the following makes a recommendation?

A. President

B. Rajya Sabha

C. Lok Sabha

D. Council of ministers

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: If Rajya Sabha passes a resolution by a majority of not less than two-thirds of the members present and voting declaring that it is necessary or expedient in the national interest to create one or more All India Services common to the Union and the States, Parliament becomes empowered to create by law such services.

33. What can be the maximum strength of Rajya Sabha?

A. 245

B. 250

C. 255

D. 260

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: Article 80 of the Constitution lays down the maximum strength of Rajya Sabha as 250, out of which 12 members are nominated by the President and 238 are representatives of the States and of the two Union Territories. The present strength of Rajya Sabha, however, is 245, out of which 233 are representatives of the States and Union territories of Delhi and Puducherry and 12 are nominated by the President. The members nominated by the President are persons having special knowledge or practical experience in respect of such matters as literature, science, art and social service.

34. What fraction of Rajya Sabha members retire after every two years?

A. 2/3

B. 1/3

C. 1/2

D. 1/6

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: Rajya Sabha is a permanent House and is not subject to dissolution. However, one-third Members of Rajya Sabha retire after every second year. A member who is elected for a full term serves for a period of six years. The election held to fill a vacancy arising otherwise than by retirement of a member on the expiration of his term of office is called ‘Bye-election’ . A member elected in a bye-election remains member for the remainder of the term of the member who had resigned or died or disqualified to be member of the House under the Tenth Schedule.

35. Who give the final assent on the law made by Parliament.

A. Speaker

B. Prime Minister

C. Vice President

D. President

Correct Answer: D

Explanation: When a bill has been passed by both Houses following the described process, it is sent to the President for his approval per Article 111. The President can assent or withhold his assent to a bill, or he can return a bill, other than a money bill which is recommended by president himself to the houses. The bill only become the act or law when President gave his/her final signature on that.

36. Which among the following is known as Upper House?

A. Lok Sabha

B. Rajya Sabha

C. Legislative assembly

D. None of the above

Correct Answer: B

Explanation: The Rajya Sabha or Council of States is the upper house of the bicameral Parliament of India. It currently has a maximum membership of 245, of which 233 are elected by the legislatures of the states and union territories using single transferable votes through Open Ballot while the President can appoint 12 members for their contributions to art, literature, science, and social services.