Information on IIT Bhubaneswar

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for JEE/Mains : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of JEE/Mains.

Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar is an “engineering and technology” higher education institute situated in Bhubaneswar, Orissa (India) . It is one of the eight new Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) being instituted by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India under The Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Act 2011 which declares these eight IITs as well as the conversion of Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University to IIT.

Permanent Campus

Orissa՚s Government has provided around 936 acres Government land for the permanent campus pertaining to the institute. Also, the State Government has a possession of around 16 acres of private land at its own cost to make the land adjacent. The Foundation Stone of the permanent campus at Arugul, on the outside areas of Bhubaneswar was laid on 12 February 2009.


Release of Institute՚s Vision Document by Prof. Asit Biswas, President, Third World Center of Water Management, Mexico.

The academic programs of Institute comprise B. Tech (Hons.) . in Civil, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering with a capacity of 40 each at the undergraduate level. The Institute has started the Doctoral programs from the academic year 2009 − 10 and alotted admission to the joint M. Tech-PhD program from July, 2012.


  1. School of Basic Sciences: The School provides PHD program in namely Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. The School is in the ongoing procedure of offering of Joint M. Tech-PhD program in the Material Science & Engineering in association with other Schools to encourage researchers and scientists to explore their career in academics as well as industries.
  2. School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Management: The School provides doctoral programs in Economics, English and Psychology apart of undergraduate teaching.
  3. School of Mechanical Sciences: Encompassing Mechanical, Manufacturing & Industrial Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Naval Architecture; the School provides Undergraduate teaching in Mechanical Engineering apart of Doctorate program in respective fields.
  4. School of Infrastructure: The School provides undergraduate and postgraduate teaching, doctoral programs in the areas of Civil Engineering, Traffic & Transportation Engineering and proposes to foray into Architecture, Urban Design, Town Planning in future.
  5. School of Electrical Sciences: The School provides undergraduate and postgraduate teaching, doctoral programs in the branches of Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Instrumental Engineering, Computer Science.
  6. School of Mineral, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering: This is a new School, who is in the ongoing process of being furnished to impart state-of-the-art education and training on fundamentals as well as applied aspects of Metallurgical and Minerals Engineering relevant to the rich resources of metals and minerals in the region.
  7. School of Earth, Ocean and Climate Sciences: The School currently provides doctoral research avenues and is in the process of offering Joint M. Tech. PHD The programs aimed to impart state-of-the-art education and training on fundamental as well as applied aspects of Earth, Ocean and Climate Sciences. Currently the most renounced Indian scientist Prem Chand Pandey has entered as a faculty in the School of Earth, Ocean and Climate Sciences.


Undergraduate Programs

IIT Bhubaneswar presently provides undergraduate degrees in 3 technical branches-

B. Tech Programs

Undergraduate programs will lead to the following degrees being offered.

  • Bachelor of Technology in Civil Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Technology in Electrical Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Technology in Mechanical Engineering.

Integrated M. Tech Programs

The Integrated 5 year programs for those students who are undergraduate and pacing towards M. Tech degrees will be provided by IIT Bhubaneswar in the upcoming future.

M. Tech Programs

Institute provides M. Tech programs in the upcoming future.

PhD Programs

Institute has been providing students the PHD programs since the year 2009. The 5 schools who take PHD students are quoted below-

  • School of Infrastructure.
  • School of Electrical Sciences.
  • School of Mechanical Sciences.
  • School of Basic Sciences.
  • School of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Official Website

IIT Bhubaneshwar Official Website

Developed by: