NTA (UGC) NET Paper 1 Higher Education: Introduction to UGC

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 128K)

University Grants Commission (UGC)

Objective: The government established University Grants Commission (UGC) by an Act of Parliament in 1956. It discharges the Constitutional mandate of coordination determination, and maintenance of standards of teaching, examination and research in the field of University and Higher Education. UOC serves 8S a crucial link between the Union and State Governments and the institutions of higher learning. It monitors developments in the field of collegiate and university education; disburses grants to the universities and colleges: Advises Central and State Governments on the measures necessary for the betterment of university education and mention regulations like those on the minimum standards of instruction.

Composition Commission comprises of the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and ten other members appointed by the Central Government. The Chairperson is selected from among persons who are not officers of the Central Government or any State Government. Of the ten members, two are from amongst the officers of the Central Government to represent it. Not less than four selected from among persons who are, at the time they are selected, shall be a teacher in the Universities. Others are selected from among eminent educationists, academics and experts in different fields. Chairperson is appointed for a term of 5 years or until the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. Vice Chairperson is appointed for a term of 3 years or until the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. The other members are appointed for a term of 3 years. The Chairperson. Vice-Chairperson and members can be appointed for a maximum of two terms. Funding UGC has no funds of its own. It receives both Plan and Non-Plan grants from the Central Government to fulfill the responsibilities assigned to it by law. It bifurcate and disburses full maintenance and development grants to all Central Universities, Colleges affiliated to Delhi and Banaras Hindu Universities and some of the institutions accorded the status of Deemed to be Universities. State Universlties, Colleges and other institutions of higher education, get support only from the Plan grant for development schemes. Also, it gives monetary help or aid to the Universities and colleges under different schemes or programmes for enhancing relevance, quality and expertise and also improving the role of Universities pertaining to social change.

Regional Offices

  • Southern Regional Office: Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu.
  • Northern Regional Office: Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana. Uttar Pradesh.
  • Central Regional Office: Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan.
  • Eastern Regional Office: West Bengal, Bihar, Orissa, Sikkim.
  • North Eastern Regional Office: Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura, Nagaland.
  • Western Regional Office: Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra.

Glide to success with Doorsteptutor material for UGC - Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Developed by: