Awards in 2010, International Awards, Dhyan Chand Award, Sports

Doorsteptutor material for IAS is prepared by world's top subject experts: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 223K)

International Awards

Table of International Awards
Table of International Awards

Nobel Prize 2010


Robert G Edwards (British)

For research in in-vitro fertilization


Andre Geim (UK)

Konstantin Novoselov (UK)

For experiments with Graphene. Novoselov is the youngest physicist since 1973 to win a Nobel


Richard Heck (US)

Ei-ichi Negishi (US)

Akira Suzuki (Japan)

Palladium catalysed cross coupling


Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru)

Famous works: Conversation in the Cathedral, The feast of the goat, The time of the Hero


Liu Xiaobo (China)

For his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China

Economic Sciences

Peter Diamond (MIT)

Dale Mortensen (North-western University)

Christopher Pissarides (LSE)

For their analysis of markets with search frictions

Man Booker Prize 2010

Howard Jacobson (British)

For the novel ‘The Finkler Question’

Knight of the Order of Legion d’Honneur (France’s highest honour)

Deepak Parekh

Pulitzer Prize 2010

General non-fiction

Siddhartha Mukharjee

Book: The Emperor of all Maladies: A biography of Cancer

NY Times

For its economics commentary and reporting on Russia

Public Service + Feature Photography

The Los Angeles Times


Carol Guzy

Nikki Kahn

Ricky Carioti

The Washington Post

For pictures of earthquake in Haiti


Jennifer Egan

A visit from the goon squad


Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

  • Started in 1991-92.

  • It is the highest honour given for achievement in sports.

  • First Awardee: Vishwanath Anand (1991-92)

  • Was not awarded in 1993-94.

  • Joint awards were given in the years:

  • 1994-95: Homi D Motivala (Yatching), P K Garg (Yatching)

  • 1996-97: Nameirakpam Kunjarani (weightlifting), Leander Paes (Tennis)

  • 2002-03: Anjali Bhagwat (shooting), K M Beenamol (Athletics)

  • 2008-09: Mary Kom (Boxing), Vijender Singh (Boxing), Sushil Kumar (Wrestling)

  • In 2009-10, it was awarded to Saina Nehwal.

  • Only two cricket personalities have got the award: Tendulkar (1997-98), Dhoni (2007-08)

  • 2 in badminton: Pullela Gopichand (2000-01) and Saina (2009-10)

  • 1 in tennis: Leander Paes

  • Maximum given in shooting: 4. Abhinav Bindra (2001-02), Anjali Bhagwat (2002-03), Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (2004-05), Manavjit Singh Sandhu (2006-07)

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

Dhyan Chand Award

  • Instituted in 2002. Highest award for lifetime achievement in sports.

  • Rastriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar is given to institutions promoting sports development.

Booker Prize Winners from India

Table of Booker Prize Winners from India
Table of Booker Prize Winners from India




Other Books

Kiran Desai (resides in US)


The Inheritance of Loss

Hullabaloo in the Guava Orchard

V S Naipaul (Trinidadian of Indian Origin) (also won the Nobel Prize in 2001)


In a Free State

A House for Mr Biswas, A Bend in the River, The Enigma of Arrival

Salman Rushdie (resides in UK)


Midnight’s Children

The Satanic Verses

Arundhati Roy


The God of Small Things

Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding

  • Award by GOI Started in 1965. Administered by the Indian Council for Cultural Relations.

  • First: U Thant – 1965

  • 2007 – Olafur Ragnar Grimsson

  • Notable recipients: Martin Luther King Jr, Mother Teresa, Raul Prebisch, Nelson Mandela, Indira Gandhi, Aung Suu Kyi

Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development

  • Annual award to individuals or organisations in recognition of creative efforts towards promoting peace, disarmament etc. Since 1986

    • First – Parliamentarians for global action

    • 2007 – Gates foundation

    • 2008 – Md Elbaradei

    • 2009- Sheikh Hasina

    • 2010 – Lula Da silva

  • Other notable: Gorbachev, Rajiv Gandhi, Jimmy Carter, Md Yunus, MS Swaminathan, Kofi Annan, Hamid Karzai


Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology

Started in 1958

  • Awarded annually by CSIR for applied or fundamental research in seven fields: Biology, Chemistry, Earth Atmosphere Ocean and Planetary Sciences (Environmental Sciences), Engineering, Mathematics, Medicine and Physics

  • A citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years is eligible for the prize. Nominations proposed by CSIR, heads and deans of universities and previous awardees. Announced on September, 26.


Jnanpith Award

G Sankara Kurup

G Sankara Kurup

  • Instituted in 1961

  • First awarded in 1965: G Sankara Kurup

  • Highest literary award in India presented by the Bharatiya Jnanpith trust.

Developed by: