Classical Tamil World Conference 2010, Winners, Tennis 2010 − 11

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for IAS : Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 128K)

Tamil Internet Conference 2010

Location: Coimbatore

Starts: June 24

This is the ninth edition of the conference. Four aims:

  • Creating a consensus on norms and standards in Tamil internet applications.

  • Provide students and public with tools and techniques to use computers in Tamil

  • Creating a framework to monitor and follow-up the progress made in these areas.

  • A platform for Tamil experts and computer engineers to engage in constant interaction.







Durand Cup

Chirag United

Tennis 2010-11

Tennis 2010-11
Tennis 2010-11


Mens Single

Women Single

Men Double

Women Double

Mixed Double



Federar def Murray (UK)

Serena def Henin (Bel)

Bryan bros def Nestor (Can)/Zimonjic (Serb)

Williams def Black (Zim)/Huber (US)

Black/Paes def Makarova (Rus)/Levinsky (Cz)


Nadal def Soderling (Sweeden)

Schiavone (Italy) def Stosur (Aus)

Nestor/Zimonjic def Dlouhy(Cz)/Paes

Williams def Peschke (Cz)/Srebotnik(Slov)

Srebotnik(Slov)/Zimonjic def Shvedova(Kzakh)/Knowle (Austria)


Nadal def Berdych (Cz)

Serena def Zvonareva (Rus)

Paes/Black def Moodie(SA)/Raymond(US)


Nadal def Djokovic

Clijsters def Zvonavera

Bryan bros def Bopanna/Qureshi



Djokovic def Murray

Clijsters def Li Na (Chn)

Bryan bros def Bhupati/Paes

FIFA World Cup 2010

FIFA World Cup 2010
FIFA World Cup 2010




The Netherlands






  • Golden Boot: Thomas Muller (GER) (5 goals)

  • Silver Shoe: David Villa (ESP, 5) Bronze: Wesley Sneijder (NED, 5)

  • Golden Glove: Iker Casillas (ESP)

  • Golden Glove was named as the Yashin Award in 1994. It was renamed as Golden Glove in 2010

  • Golden Ball: Diego Forlan (URU) [given to the best player. First in 1982)

  • Silver: Wesley Sneijder (NED),

  • Bronze: David Villa (ESP)

  • Best Young Player: Thomas Muller (GER)

  • Man of the match in the finals: Iniesta (ESP)

Important points:

  • First African Country to hold a FIFA WC.

  • Bafana Bafana (SA football team) are the first hosts to be knocked out in the first round.


  1. There were security concerns. Everything, however, went well.


  • Spain became the only nation to win the world cup after having lost the opening match.

  • Spain conceded only 2 goals in the entire tournament (a record for winning team shared with France – 1998 and Italy – 2006)

US Open 2010

  • Men’s singles: Raphael Nadal(Esp) bt Novak Djokovic(Ser)

  • Women’s singles: Kim Clijsters(Bel) bt Vera Zvonavera(Rus)

  • Men’s Doubles: Bob Bryan & Mike Bryan (US) bt Rohan Bopanna (Ind)/Aisam-ul-haq Qureshi (Pak)

  • Women’s Doubles: Vaina King (US)/Yaroslava Shvedova(Kzk) bt Liezel Huber (US)/Nadia Petrova(Rus)

  • Mixed Doubles: Liezel Huber(US)/Bob Bryan(US) bt Kveta Perschke(Czk)/Aisam-ul-haq Qureshi (Pak)

Commonwealth Games

  • Organized every four years. It is the third largest sporting event after Olympics and the Asian Games.

  • Members of the Commonwealth of Nations participate.

  • First held in 1930 under the title ‘British Empire Games’. Gained the current title in 1978.

  • Only six teams have attended every CWG.

  • 71 teams participate in the Games currently.

  • Last edition of the Games was held in 2006 in Melbourne.

2010 Edition

  • New Delhi, October 3-14

  • It is the nineteenth CWG

  • Mascot: Shera

  • Official Song: Jiyo Utho Badho Jeeto (ARR)

  • Slogan: Come out and play

  • 71 participating nations

  • Rwanda will participate for the first time (It became as CW member in 2009). Fiji is not participating due to suspended membership

India’S Performance at CWG

  • India won 101 medals (38 gold medals) to finish second behind Australia

  • From India, Gagan Narang won the maximum number of medals (4).


  • Probe has been started into the CWG scam under the P Shangloo, former CAG.

  • CWG woes expose the pitfalls of private-public partnership as the low quality work was done by the private firms.

Men’S Hockey World Cup 2010

  • Was held at New Delhi.

  • Australia, England, Germany and Netherlands reached the semifinals.

  • Winner: Australia

  • Runner up: Germany

  • India was placed seventh out of twelve countries.

  • Player of the tournament: Guss Vogels (Netherlands)

Women’S World Cup Hockey

  • 2010 edition held at Rosario, Argentina.

  • Winner 2010: Argentina

  • Runner-up: Netherlands

  • Started in 1974

  • Organized by International Hockey Federation

  • 12 tournaments so far. Netherlands has won 6 of them. Germany, Australia and Argentina have won two each.

Developed by: