Schedules to the Constitution, Emoluments of VVIFPs, Constitution Review Panel

Doorsteptutor material for IAS is prepared by world's top subject experts: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 109K)

Schedules to the Constitution

Constitution of India contains Ten Schedules, which are an integral part of the Constitution. A brief summary is given below:

1St Schedule

It contains the list of the States and the Union Territories comprising the Indian Union.

2Nd Schedule

It has Five Parts.

  • Part (a) fixes the remuneration and emoluments payable to the President of India and Governors of the States.

  • Part (b) was deleted from the Constitution (7th Amendment) Act 1956)

  • Part (c) contains provisions as of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House of people, Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the council of States and the Speaker of the Legislative Assemblies and Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Legislative Councils.

  • Part (d) fixes the emoluments of the Judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts.

  • Part (e) contains provision of the Comptroller and Auditor - General of India.

3Rd Schedule

It contains the allocation of seats of each States and Union Territories in the Council of States.

4th Schedule

It provides for the administration and control of scheduled areas. It can be amended by a simple majority of the Parliament.

6th Schedule

It provides for the administration of tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya, and Mizoram and goes into details of the administration in these areas. It can be amended by a simple majority of the Parliament.

7th Schedule

  • It gives the allocation of powers and functions between the Union & the States. It contains three lists:

    • Union list of 97 subjects over which the Union government has an exclusive authority,

    • State list of 66 subjects over which States have exclusive authority and

    • Concurrent list of 47 subjects over which the Union and the States have concurrent powers.

8th Schedule

It contains a list of eighteen languages of India recognised in the Constitution. They are:

  • Assamese

  • Konkani

  • Punjabi

  • Bengali

  • Malayalam

  • Sanskrit

  • Gujarati

  • Manipuri

  • Sindhi

  • Hindi

  • Marathi

  • Tamil

  • Kannada

  • Nepali

  • Telugu

  • Kashmiri

  • Oriya

  • Urdu.

9Th Schedule

It was added by the Constitution 1st Amendment Act 1951. It contains Acts and Orders relating to Land tenure, Land tax, Railways, Industries, etc., possessed by the Union government and State governments (including Jammu & Kashmir), which are beyond the jurisdiction of the Civil Courts.

10th Schedule

(Fifty Second Amendments) Act 1985. It contains anti-defection Acts.

Emoluments of VVIFPs

Second Schedule: Salary Per Month

  • President: Rs.50, 000(20,000)

  • Vice-President: Rs.40, 000(14,500)

  • State Governor: Rs.36, 000(11,000)

  • Member of the Parliaments: Rs.15, 000(14,000)

  • Chief Justice of Supreme Court: Rs.33, 000(10,000)

  • Judges of the Supreme Court: Rs.30, 000(9000)

  • Chief Justice of State High Court: Rs.30, 000(9000)

  • Judges of the High Court: Rs.26, 000(8000)

Constitution Review Panel

  • An 11-member Constitution Review Commission chaired by Mr. Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah was set up by the government on February 13, 2000. A gazette notification formally setting up the Commission was issued on February 23, 2000.

  • The Commission will suggest changes, if any, within the framework of parliamentary democracy, by submitting a report within a year ending on February 21, 2001.

  • On 14-1-2001 the Union Cabinet formally decided to extend the term by eight months, up to October 31, 2001.The Commission set up with a mandate to examine how best the Constitution could respond to the changing needs of the country in the limelight of the experience for the past 50 years.

The other 10 members of the Commission are:

  • Mr. Justice B.P. Jeewan Reddy, Chairman, Law Commission and former Supreme Court Judge. Mr. Justice R.S. Sarkaria, former Supreme Court

  • Mr. Justice R.S. Sarkaria, former Supreme Court Judge and Chairperson, Sarkaria Commission on Centre-State relations.

  • Mr. Justice Kandapalli Punniah, Former Andhra High Court Judge

  • Mr. Soli Sorabjee, Attorney-General Mr. Parasaran, former Attorney-General

  • Mr. P.A. Sangma, former Speaker, Lok Sabha,

  • Mr. Subhash Kashyap, former Secretary General, Lok Sabha

  • Mr. C.R. Irani, Chief Editor, The Statesman

  • Mr. Abid Husain, former Indian Ambassador to the United States

  • Mrs. Sumitra Kulkarni, former M.P.

Developed by: