India՚S Missile Programme, Atomic Research and Atomic Power Plants, Department of Atomic Energy (DAE)

Doorsteptutor material for IAS is prepared by world's top subject experts: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

India՚S Missile Programme

Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) has started India՚s Integrated Missile Development Programme (IGMDP) in 1982 - 1983 under the chairmanship of Dr A. P. J. Abdul Kalam. viz.

  • Prithvi: is a Surface-to-surface battlefield missile and has a range of 150km-250km. It was first launched on February 25,1988 from Rocket Launching Centre, Sriharikota. It was successfully test fired from the Interim Test Range at Chandipur-on-sea, March 27,2003.
  • Agni: is a Surface-to-surface ballistic missile. It has a range of 1200km-2000km. On May 22,1989 it was first launched from Chandipur (Orissa) .
  • Agni-1: was successfully test fired from the launch complex at the Wheeler՚s island located in the Bay of Bengal of the Orissa coast.
  • Trishul: is a low-level and quick reaction surface-to- surface missile and has a range of 500 m to 9 km (short range) . It is developed for all the three defence services namely army, navy and air force. It was first launched in 1985.
  • Nag: is an Anti-tank guided missile. Its range is 4 km. Its first test flight was made in 1988.
  • Anti-Missile System: India has embarked upon the development of an anti-missile system capable of detecting and destroying enemy՚s long-range missiles similar to the US made ‘Patriot’ which was effectively used against Iraqi scud missiles in the 1991 gulf war.
  • Nag Fire and Target System: Indian defence Scientists, in a technological breakthrough, have successfully tested the “fire and forget guidance system” using imaging infra-red seeker for mounting on Nag, making it the first third generation anti-tank missile in the world.
  • Akash: Akash was successfully test fired from Chandipur-on-Sea, in Balasore district, Orissa on September 19,2000. It is a medium range surface-to air missile. It has a range of 25 km. It was again successfully test fired on January 21,2003.
  • BrahMos: The supersonic anti-ship cruise missile BrahMos, jointly developed by India and Russia, was successfully test fired for the 2nd time in February 12,2003. For the first time missile was the test fired from the ship (INS-Rajput) stationed in the Bay of Bengal.
  • The Arjun Tank: The state-of-the-art flagship of Indian armour and can move in a battlefield at 72 kmph. It has laser range finder, computer-based firing system, 12.7 mm machine gun and thermal sighting equipment.
  • Pinaka: Pinaka is a multi-barrel rocket system characterised by the capability to deliver saturation fire over targets not engageable by guns. It has a range of 40 km and can deliver a variety of warheads.
  • LCA: LCA is an eight-tonne state of the art multi-role combat aircraft. It would be capable of engaging air battle in a 600 km combat zone. It would carry laser-guided bombs, IR and radar guided missiles, anti-ship missiles, cluster bomb dispensers etc.

India՚S Atomic Research

First Nuclear Implosion was carried out on May 18,1974 at Pokharan in Rajasthan (Thar) desert. The main objective was the use of atomic energy for peaceful purposes, i.e.. Digging canals, reservoirs, oil exploration, as well as to study rock dynamics. This successful implosion made India the sixth nuclear nation in the world. In Pokhran (Rajasthan) three tests were conducted on May 11,1998 and two on May 13,1998. Code named “Operation Shakti” . India declared itself a nuclear weapon state capable of deterring a nuclear attack on its territory.

Atomic Power Plants

Atomic Power Plants
Tarapur Atomic Power Station Tarapur (TAPS)(Maharashtra)
Rajasthan Atomic Power Starion (RAPS)Rawabhata
Madras Atomic Power Station (MAPS)Kalpakkam (Tamil Nadu)
Narora Atomic Power Station (NAPS)Narora (Uttar Pradesh)
Kakrapara Atomic Power Station (KAPP)Kakrapara (Gujarat)
Koodangulam AtomicKoodangulam
Power Station (KNPP)(Tamil Nadu)
Kaiga Power Project (KPP)Kaiga (Karnataka)

Atomic Energy Commission

Was established in 1948, with Dr H. J. Bhabha as its first Chairman, to look after India՚s atomic energy programmes.

Department of Atomic Energy (DAE)

Was set up in August 1954 for implementation of atomic energy programmes and headed by the Prime Minister of India. It has several centres/laboratories:

  • Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research: is located at Kalpakkam (Chennai) , it was established in 1971.
  • Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) : was established in1957, it is located in Trombay (Maharashtra) and is India՚s largest atomic research centre.
  • Centre for Advanced Technology (CAT) : is located at Indore, it was established in 1984.

Developed by: