Classical Tamil World Conference 2010, Winners, Tennis 2010 − 11

Glide to success with Doorsteptutor material for IAS : Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Tamil Internet Conference 2010

Location: Coimbatore

Starts: June 24

This is the ninth edition of the conference. Four aims:

  • Creating a consensus on norms and standards in Tamil internet applications.
  • Provide students and public with tools and techniques to use computers in Tamil
  • Creating a framework to monitor and follow-up the progress made in these areas.
  • A platform for Tamil experts and computer engineers to engage in constant interaction.


2010Durand CupChirag United

Tennis 2010 - 11

Tennis 2010 - 11
TitleMens SingleWomen SingleMen DoubleWomen DoubleMixed Double
AustralianFederar def Murray (UK)Serena def Henin (Bel)Bryan bros def Nestor (Can) /Zimonjic (Serb)Williams def Black (Zim) /Huber (US)Black/Paes def Makarova (Rus) /Levinsky (Cz)
FrenchNadal def Soderling (Sweeden)Schiavone (Italy) def Stosur (Aus)Nestor/Zimonjic def Dlouhy (Cz) /PaesWilliams def Peschke (Cz) /Srebotnik (Slov)Srebotnik (Slov) /Zimonjic def Shvedova (Kzakh) /Knowle (Austria)
WimbledonNadal def Berdych (Cz)Serena def Zvonareva (Rus)Paes/Black def Moodie (SA) /Raymond (US)
USNadal def DjokovicClijsters def ZvonaveraBryan bros def Bopanna/Qureshi
AustralianDjokovic def MurrayClijsters def Li Na (Chn)Bryan bros def Bhupati/Paes

FIFA World Cup 2010

FIFA World Cup 2010
2ndThe Netherlands


  • Golden Boot: Thomas Muller (GER) (5 goals)
  • Silver Shoe: David Villa (ESP, 5) Bronze: Wesley Sneijder (NED, 5)
  • Golden Glove: Iker Casillas (ESP)
  • Golden Glove was named as the Yashin Award in 1994. It was renamed as Golden Glove in 2010
  • Golden Ball: Diego Forlan (URU) [given to the best player. First in 1982)
  • Silver: Wesley Sneijder (NED) ,
  • Bronze: David Villa (ESP)
  • Best Young Player: Thomas Muller (GER)
  • Man of the match in the finals: Iniesta (ESP)

Important points:

  • First African Country to hold a FIFA WC.
  • Bafana Bafana (SA football team) are the first hosts to be knocked out in the first round.


  1. There were security concerns. Everything, however, went well.


  • Spain became the only nation to win the world cup after having lost the opening match.
  • Spain conceded only 2 goals in the entire tournament (a record for winning team shared with France – 1998 and Italy – 2006)

US Open 2010

  • Men՚s singles: Raphael Nadal (Esp) bt Novak Djokovic (Ser)
  • Women՚s singles: Kim Clijsters (Bel) bt Vera Zvonavera (Rus)
  • Men՚s Doubles: Bob Bryan & Mike Bryan (US) bt Rohan Bopanna (Ind) /Aisam-ul-haq Qureshi (Pak)
  • Women՚s Doubles: Vaina King (US) /Yaroslava Shvedova (Kzk) bt Liezel Huber (US) /Nadia Petrova (Rus)
  • Mixed Doubles: Liezel Huber (US) /Bob Bryan (US) bt Kveta Perschke (Czk) /Aisam-ul-haq Qureshi (Pak)

Commonwealth Games

  • Organized every four years. It is the third largest sporting event after Olympics and the Asian Games.
  • Members of the Commonwealth of Nations participate.
  • First held in 1930 under the title ‘British Empire Games’ . Gained the current title in 1978.
  • Only six teams have attended every CWG.
  • 71 teams participate in the Games currently.
  • Last edition of the Games was held in 2006 in Melbourne.

2010 Edition

  • New Delhi, October 3 - 14
  • It is the nineteenth CWG
  • Mascot: Shera
  • Official Song: Jiyo Utho Badho Jeeto (ARR)
  • Slogan: Come out and play
  • 71 participating nations
  • Rwanda will participate for the first time (It became as CW member in 2009) . Fiji is not participating due to suspended membership

India՚S Performance at CWG

  • India won 101 medals (38 gold medals) to finish second behind Australia
  • From India, Gagan Narang won the maximum number of medals (4) .


  • Probe has been started into the CWG scam under the P Shangloo, former CAG.
  • CWG woes expose the pitfalls of private-public partnership as the low quality work was done by the private firms.

Men՚S Hockey World Cup 2010

  • Was held at New Delhi.
  • Australia, England, Germany and Netherlands reached the semifinals.
  • Winner: Australia
  • Runner up: Germany
  • India was placed seventh out of twelve countries.
  • Player of the tournament: Guss Vogels (Netherlands)

Women՚S World Cup Hockey

  • 2010 edition held at Rosario, Argentina.
  • Winner 2010: Argentina
  • Runner-up: Netherlands
  • Started in 1974
  • Organized by International Hockey Federation
  • 12 tournaments so far. Netherlands has won 6 of them. Germany, Australia and Argentina have won two each.

Developed by: