Andhra Pradesh PSC: Indian Geography Nuclear Power

Glide to success with Doorsteptutor material for UGC : Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 103K)

Get video tutorials on geography @ Youtube Examrace Channel

Watch Video Lecture on YouTube: IAS Mains Geography Optional 2013 Solutions

IAS Mains Geography Optional 2013 Solutions

Loading Video
Watch this video on YouTube

Nuclear Power

Rajasthan (This state being deficient in both coal and waterhead, Nuclear energy contributes around 54% of its total commercial energy)

Nuclear Power: Atomic energy Institute was established at Trombay in 1954.

It was renamed as the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) in 1967. At present production of nuclear energy is facilitated by ten units located at six centres:

  • Tarapur (Maharashtra)

  • Rawatbhata (Rajasthan)

  • Kalpakkam (TN)

  • Narora (UP)

  • Kakrapara (Gujarat)

  • Kaiga (Karnataka)

Nuclear Electricity

  • Nuclear Power Plant- Year of Completion- Capacity (M.W.)

  • Tarapur- 1969 -320

  • Ranapratap Sagar in Kota- 1972, 1980- 440

  • Kalpakkam nearChemul -1984, 1986 -470

  • Narora near Bulandshahar- 1989, 1991 -440

  • Kakrapara in Gujarat- 1992- 220.

Developed by: