Citizens Charter: Nine Principles of Service Delivery and Citizen's Charter in India

Get top class preparation for UGC right from your home: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

  • Citizens are conscious of their rights as customers and demand timely delivery of the services as they pay for the Government services

  • Citizens as “customer-focus” was result of Private Organization which impacted public organizations.

  • Citizens Charter came into existence to change the passive attitude of government officials and make the administration functioning efficient.

  • Transparency and Standard delivery of services he idea behind a Citizens Charter

  • The charter is a Code of Conduct on the part of public officials

  • The Citizens Charter is Voluntary and has no Sanctions

  • The Charter is a commitment on the part of public officials as well as the citizens

  • Idea of a Citizen’s Charter was first put up by the United Kingdom’s Conservative Government in 1991 to improve quality of services delivered

  • It was relaunched by the Labour Government in 1998 and was labelled as “Service First”

The Citizens Charter had six principles:

  • Quality

  • Choice

  • Standards

  • Value

  • Accountability

  • Transparency

Nine Principles of Service Delivery (1998)

Nine principles of service delivery (1998)

1 . Set Standards of Service

2 . Be open and provide full information

3 . Consult and involve

4 . Encourage access and promote choice

5 . Treat all fairly

6 . Put things right when they go wrong

7 . Use resources effectively

8 . Innovate and improve

9 . Work with other providers

Citizen’s Charter in India

  • The recommendations of the Conference of Chief Secretaries of States and Union Territories on “Effective and Responsive Administration” held in 1996

  • The scheme was introduced from 1997 in India

Components of Indian Citizen’s Charter

  • Vision and Mission statement

  • Details of business transacted

  • Details of citizens

  • Statement of Services

  • Details of Grievance Redressal Mechanisms

  • Expectations from the citizens

Initiatives for Citizens Charter in India

  • From 1997 there is a Citizens Charter in all Central, State and Union Territories Ministries and Departments

  • From 2010 Citizen’s Charter is uploaded on the respective departments website

  • Making Citizen’s Charter as one of the three component of citizens Charter

  • Making Citizen’s Charter more interactive with citizens on the recommendation rof12th report of second Admirative Reforms Commission entitled “Citizen Centric Administration-Heart of Governance”

Creating Department Charters through pilot projects which was implemented in four states:

  • Himachal Pradesh

  • Karnataka

  • Madhya Pradesh

  • Odisha


Sevottam Model is a “Service Delivery Excellence Model” which provides assessment improvement framework

It has three modules or components:

  • Effective Citizens Charter

  • Public Grievance Redress System

  • Service Delivery Capability