Polity Study Material: Regional Languages

Doorsteptutor material for UGC is prepared by world's top subject experts: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 97K)

Regional Languages

According to the Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution, the following 18 languages have been recognized as regional languages:

The last three languages were intro: Luced in the Constitution (71stAmendment) Bill, 1992.

  • Assamese
  • Bengali
  • Gujarati
  • Hindi
  • Kannada
  • Kashmiri
  • Malayalam
  • Marathi
  • Oriya
  • Punjabi
  • Sanskrit
  • Sindhi
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Urdu
  • Gorkhali
  • Manipuri
  • Konkani

Developed by: