Awadh and Ayodhya, History, Geography and Present Must Know for Exams

Get top class preparation for AP right from your home: get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of AP.

Awadh and Ayodhya
  • Awadh is bounded by the Ganges Doab to the southwest, Rohilkhand to the northwest, Nepal to the north, and Purvanchal to the east. Its inhabitants are referred to as Awadhis.
  • The traditional capital of Awadh was Faizabad, but the capital was later moved to Lucknow, also the station of the British Resident, which now is the capital of Uttar Pradesh


  • The five judges Supreme Court bench have heard the title dispute cases and have reserved their orders.
  • Ayodhya is situated on the banks of river Sarayu.
  • District Faizabad
  • The Sarayu river of India forms at the confluence of the Karnali (or Ghaghara) and Mahakali (or Sharda) in Bahraich District.
  • The Sarayu rises at Sarmul (or Sarmool) , which is located in the extreme north of the district Bageshwar of Uttarakhand on the southern slope of a ridge of the Nanda Kot.
  • The Sarayu originates from Lake Mansarovar in the Himalayas and is also known as the Ghaghra and the Manas Nandini. It merges with the Ganga in Bihar՚s Saran district.
  • The Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) report of 2016 shows that the river has faecal coliform in the range of 3,900 to 5,100 Most Probable Number or mpn/100ml, which is higher than the standard quantity of 2500 mpn/100 ml
  • Baqi Tashqandi or Mir Baqi or Mir Banki
  • Mughal Period
  • Diwan
  • Mir Bakshi
  • Mir Saman
  • Sadr

Baqi Tashqandi, also known as Mir Baqi or Mir Banki, was a Mughal commander (beg) originally from Tashkent (in modern Uzbekistan) during the reign of the first Mughal emperor Babur. He is widely believed to have been made the governor of the province of Awadh. He is believed to have founded Babri Mosque in Ayodhya in 1528, which later became the focal point of the Babri Masjid – Ram Janmabhoomi dispute.

  • Babur
  • Humayun
  • Akbar
  • Jahangir
  • Shah Jahan

Last – Bahadur Shah II

First of all, it should be recognized that the Mughals drew heavily on the past, for the organization of their government was on essentially the same lines as that of the sultanate. The principal officers of the central government were four:

1) diwan

2) mir bakhshi

3) mir saman

4) sadr

  • The first of these dignitaries, the diwan, often called the wazir (the chief minister) , was mainly concerned with revenue and finance, but as he had a say in all matters where any expenditure was involved
  • The mir bakhshi performed those duties which had been the responsibility of the ariz-i-mamalik during the earlier period. Owing to the organization of the civil services on military lines, his power extended far beyond the war office, and some foreign travelers called him the lieutenant-general or the captain-general of the realm. The main departure from the sultanate was in respect to work relating to state karkhanas, stores, ordinance, and communications, now so important that the dignitary dealing with it, called the mir saman, ranked as an important minister often senior in rank to the sadr. The sadr (or, more fully, sadr-i-jahan) was, as in the earlier period, director of the religious matters, charities, and endowments.

Decision Makers Ayodhya Verdict

  • Ranjan Gogoi
  • SA Bobde
  • DY Chandrachud
  • Ashok Bhushan
  • S Abdul Nazeer
  • Ranjan Gogoi (born 18 November 1954) is an Indian jurist serving as the 46th and current Chief Justice of India since 3 October 2018. His term as Chief Justice ends on 17 November 2019, with Sharad Arvind Bobde in line to replace him. He is the first person from Northeast India to become Chief Justice of India.
  • On 3 October 2018, he was appointed as Chief Justice of India, succeeding Dipak Misra
  • SA Bobde, DY Chandrachud, Ashok Bhushan and S Abdul Nazeer
  • Sharad Arvind Bobde (born 24 April 1956) is a Judge of the Supreme Court of India. He is a former Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court. He is also serving as the Chancellor of University of Delhi and Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur. He is due to retire on 23 April 2021. With a tenure of eight years in Supreme Court of India, he is in line to be Chief Justice of India (with effect from 18 November 2019) after superannuation of Justice Ranjan Gogoi.
  • Dhananjaya Yeshwant Chandrachud (born 11 November 1959) is currently a judge of the Supreme Court of India, He is a former Chief Justice of the Allahabad High Court and a former judge of the Bombay High Court. His father Y. V. Chandrachud was the longest serving Chief Justice of India
  • Ashok Bhushan (born 5 July 1956) is currently a judge at the Supreme Court of India. He was the 31st Chief Justice of Kerala High Court. He was appointed as Judge of the Supreme Court of India on 13 May 2016.
  • Justice S Abdul Nazeer (born 5 January 1958 at Beluvai near Moodbidri) is a judge of the Supreme Court of India. From Karnataka. In the Supreme Court, Abdul Nazeer was the lone Muslim judge in a multi-faith bench which heard the controversial Triple Talaq case in 2017.

Developed by: