Maharashtra PSC Exam: Types of Motions

Doorsteptutor material for competitive exams is prepared by world's top subject experts: get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.

  1. Censure Motion. This motion, seeking disapproval of the policy of the ruling Government, can be introduced in the Lok Sabha only by the Opposition parties under the Rule 184 of the Rules and Procedures of the Lok Sabha. If a Censure motion is passed in the House, the Council of Ministers is bound to seek the confidence of the Lok Sabha as early as possible. Further, if a Money Bill or the Vote of Thanks to the President is defeated, this also amounts to the censure of the Government policy and the Government needs to seek the confidence of the Lok Sabha.
  2. No-confidence Motion. This is introduced only in the Lok Sabha by the Opposition party. When such a motion is admitted in the House, the Members of Parliament have the right to discuss any acts of commission or omission on the part of the Government on any policy matter for which substantial time is allotted. When admitted in the House, it takes precedence over all other pending business of the House. After the adoption of a no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha, the Council of Ministers is obliged to resign.
  3. Confidence Motion. The provision of Confidence Motion is not found under the Rules and Procedures of the Parliament but has come in vogue, under the Indian Parliamentary practice, with the emergence of the coalition Governments. The first incident of this was in February, 1979, when the then Charan Singh Government was asked by the President to seek the confidence of the Lok Sabha. It is similar to the ‘No-Confidence Motion’ in all respects, except that it is introduced by the Government itself to prove that it commands the approval of the House. Thus, if a Confidence motion is defeated, the Council of Ministers is obliged to resign. Examples of this are the fall of the V. P Singh Government in 1990 and of the Deve Gowda Government in 1997.
  4. Cut Motions. These are a part of the budgetary process which seek to reduce the amount of grants. These are moved in the Lok Sabha only. They are classified into 3 categories:
    1. Policy Cut. A policy cut motion implies that, the mover disapproves of the policy underlying the demand. Its form of expression is that the amount of the demand be reduced by Re 1.
    2. Economy Cut. This means reduction in the amount of the expenditure. It clearly states the amount to be reduced and its form of expression is that the amount of the demand be reduced by ₹ … (a specified amount) .
    3. Token Cut. It is introduced where the object of the motion is to ventilate a specific grievance within the sphere of the responsibility of the Government of India.

    Its form of expression is that the amount of the demand be reduced by Rupees 100.

Questions in Parliament

Questions Hour

The Question Hour is of 60 minute duration. It is fixed every day from 11: 00 − 12: 00hrs to allow the Members of Parliament to ask questions from the Government. Sometimes questions may be directed to the private members with respect to the Bills or motions for which the concerned member is responsible.

Every day, the sitting of Parliament begins with the Question Hour. The questions are of there kinds:

  1. Starred questions
  2. Unstarred questions
  3. Short-notice questions

Starred Questions

If a member of either House desires an oral answer to his question, such questions are termed as starred questions. The starred questions are distinguished by putting on a star mark along with the question. The starred questions allow a member to ask supplementary questions, if the answer is not found satisfactory.

Unstarred Questions

These are questions whose answers are given in writing. These questions do not have star mark and hence called unstarred questions. Their answer is supplied in the written form, which is laid on the floor of the House on the prescribed day. The supplementary questions are, not allowed in unstarred questions.

Developed by: