Uttar Pradesh PSC: Social and Cultural Uprising

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 118K)

Brahmo Samaj

  • Founded by Raja Ram Mohan Roy in 1828.

  • Criticized Sati Pratha, casteism and advocated widow remarriage.

  • He was opposed to Sanskrit system of education, because he thought it would keep the country in darkness.

  • Other important leaders were Devendranath Tagore (father of Rabindranath Tagore) and Keshap Chandra Sen.

Arya Samaj

  • Founded by Swami Dayanand (or, Moolshankar) in 1875.

  • His motto was ‘Go back to the vedas’ & ‘India for the Indians’ He disregarded Puranas, idol worship, casteism and untouchability. He advocated widow remarriage.

  • Dayanand's views were published in his famous work, Satyarth Prakash. He also wrote Veda Bhashya Bhumika and Veda Bhashya.

Ramakrishna Mission

  • Founded by Vivekanand (earlier, Narendranath Dutta) (1863 − 1902) in 1897, 11 years after the death of his guru Ram Krishna Paramhans.

  • Vivekanand attended the Parliament of Religion at Chicago in 1893.

  • Irish woman Margaret Nobel (Known as sister Nivedita) popularized it.

Young Bengal Movement

  • Founded by Henry Louis Vivian Derozio (1809 − 31). He was a teacher in Hindu College in Calcutta.

  • He urged the students to live and die for truth. He also supported women's education and their rights.

Veda Samaj

  • Veda Samaj called Brahmo Samaj of South. Started by Sridharalu Naidu.

  • He translated books of Brahmo Dharma into Tamil and Telegu.

Dharma Sabha

  • Initiated by Radhakant Deb in 1830.

  • Was opposed to reforms and protected orthodoxy, but played an active role in promoting western education even to girls.


  • Started by Gopal Hari Deshmukh. Advocated western education and a rational outlook. He advocated female education for the upliftment of women.

  • As a votary of national self-reliance, he attended Delhi durbar in 1876, wearing handspun khadi cloth.

Servants of India Society

  • Formed by Gopal Krishna Gokhale in 1915.

  • It did notable work in providing famine relief and in improving the condition of the tribal.

Radhaswami Movement

  • Founded in 1861 by a banker of Agra, Tulsi Ram, popularly known as Shiv Dayal Saheb or Swami Maharaj.

  • The sect preached belief in one supreme being, the Guru's supreme position and a simple social life for the believers (the Satsangis).

Theosophical Society

  • Founded by Westerners who drew inspiration from Indian thought and culture.

  • Madam H P Blavatsky laid the foundation of the movement in US in 1875. Later, Col. MS Olcott of the US Army joined her.

  • In 1882, it was shifted to India at Adyar (Tamil Nadu).

  • Annie Besant was elected its president in 1907. She founded the Central Hindu College in 1898, which became Banaras Hindu University in 1916.

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for IAS - Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Developed by: