General Knowledge MCQs – Commonly Asked Questions for Exams – Must Know Topics and Concepts Part 13

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for competitive exams : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.

5. Moortidevi Award is given annually in which of the following

(a) Literature

(b) Journalism

(c) Films

(d) Music

Ans: (a)

6. Moortidevi Award was instituted by

(a) Human Resource Ministry, Union Government

(b) Sahitya Akademi

(c) Bhartiya Jnanpith Trust

(d) Bhartiya Vidya Bhawan

Ans: (c)

7. Dronacharya Award is given to

(a) firefighting operation

(b) archery

(c) outstanding, coaching in sports and games

(d) outstanding coaching in athletics

Ans: (c)

8. Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar award is given to those who excel in the field of science and technology. The Institute associated with Prof Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar is

(a) CSIR

(b) DST

(c) ICMR

(d) llSc

Ans: (a)

9. Which one of the following statements regarding Bharat Ratna award is not correct?

(a) The original specifications for the award called for a circular gold medal, 35 mm in diameter with the sun and the Hindi legend ‘Bharat Ratna’ above and a floral wreath below. The reverse was to carry the state emblem and motto.

(b) The provision of Bharat Ratna was introduced in 1954

(c) Bharat Ratna is awarded to Indian citizens only

(d) The first ever Indian to receive this award was the famous scientist, Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman

Ans: (d)

10. The Jawahar Lal Nehru Award is for

(a) Government Service

(b) Literary Work

(c) International Understanding

(d) Social Work

Ans: (c)

11. Who among the following got the ‘Bharat Ratna’ award, before becoming the President of India?

(a) R Venkataraman

(b) Dr Rajendra Prasad

(c) Dr Zakir Hussain

(d) VV Giri

Ans: (c)

12. First Bharat Ratna Award, instituted in 1954, was given to

1. C Rajagopalachari

2. Dr Radhakrishnan

3. Dr CV Raman

4. Dr M Visvesvaraya

Choose the Correct Option:

(a) 1 and 2

(b) 1,2 and 3

(c) 1,2 and 4

(d) 1,3 and 4

Ans: (b)

13. Who is the first non-Indian to receive the Bharat Ratna?

(a) Martin Luther King

(b) Mother Teresa

(c) Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan

(d) Aubin Mehta

Ans: (c)

14. The Chameli Devi Award is given to an outstanding woman who is a

(a) vocalist

(b) lawyer

(c) journalist

(d) scientist

Ans: (c)

15. Tansen Samman is given by the Government of

(a) Uttar Pradesh

(b) Gujarat

(c) Maharashtra

(d) Madhya Pradesh

Ans: (d)

16. Saraswati Samman is given annually for outstanding contribution to

(a) literature

(b) education

(c) fine arts

(d) classical music

Ans: (a)

17. Feroz Gandhi Award is given for outstanding performance in the field of

(a) Medical research

(b) Journalism

(c) Preservation of wildlife

(d) Parliamentary debate

Ans: (b)