General Knowledge MCQs – Commonly Asked Questions for Exams – Must Know Topics and Concepts Part 14

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for competitive exams : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.

18. The two highest gallantry awards in India are

(a) Param Vir Chakra and Ashok Chakra

(b) Param Vir Chakra and Vir Chakra

(c) Ashok Chakra and Maha Vir Chakra

(d) Param Vir Chakra and Maha Vir Chakra

Ans: (d)

19. ‘Ashoka Chakra’ is awarded for

(a) outstanding contribution to literature

(b) gallantry by children

(c) acts of gallantry in the presence of the enemy

(d) The most conspicuous bravery or self-sacrifice on land, air, or sea but not in the presence of the enemy

Ans: (d)

20. Cannes Film Festival is held in

(a) Switzerland

(b) France

(c) Italy

(d) England

Ans: (b)

21. India՚s highest award given for exceptional work in art, literature, and recognition of public service of the highest order is

(a) Param Vir Chakra

(b) Bharat Ratna

(c) Jnanpith Award

(d) Kalinga Award

Ans: (b)

22. ‘Meghanath Saha’ award is given for outstanding contribution in which of the following fields?

(a) Journalism

(b) Science

(c) Literature

(d) Social Science

Ans: (b)

23. Who among the following has received both Bharat Ratna and Nishan-e- Pakistan?

(a) Morarji Desai

(b) Mahatma Gandhi

(c) Ayub Khan

(d) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad

Ans: (a)

24. ‘Global 500’ awards are given for the outstanding achievement in which of the following fields?

(a) Population control

(b) Campaign against drugs

(c) Campaign against AIDS

(d) Protection of environment

Ans: (d)

25. Ramon Magsaysay Award is named after the former President of

(a) Indonesia

(b) Indian Journalist՚s Association

(c) Thailand

(d) Philippines

Ans: (d)

26. Who was the first Indian to receive the

(a) Indira Gandhi

(b) TN Seshan

(c) Kiran Bedi

(d) Vinoba Bhave

Ans: (d)

27. Who was the first Indian lady actress to receive the Padma Shri Award?

(a) Smita Patil

(b) Nargis Dutt

(c) Meena Kumari

(d) Madhubala

Ans: (b)

28. Which of the following authors won the Booker Prize twice?

(a) Margaret Atwood

(b) JM Coetzee

(c) Graham Swift

(d) lan McEwan

Ans: (b)

29. Nobel Prizes are distributed annually at

(a) Manila

(b) Stockholm

(c) Geneva

(d) New York

Ans: (b)

30. The Nobel Prize for Economics was instituted in 1967, but was first awarded in

(a) 1967

(b) 1988

(c) 1969

(d) 1970

Ans: (c)

31. Who among the following is the first Asian Winner of Nobel prize?

(a) Mother Teresa

(b) Rabindranath Tagore

(c) CV Raman

(d) None of the above

Ans: (b)