General Knowledge MCQs – Commonly Asked Questions for Exams – Must Know Topics and Concepts Part 15

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for competitive exams : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.

32. Who was the first Indian to receive a Nobel Prize?

(a) Mother Teresa

(b) Hargobind Khurana

(c) CV Raman

(d) Rabindranath Tagore

Ans: (d)

33. Which among the following Indian artists is the winner of the Oscar Award?

(a) Dilip Kumar

(b) Bhanu Athaiya

(c) Shyam Benegal

(d) Rohini Hattangadi

Ans: (b)

34. The first black American to win the Nobel Prize for literature is

(a) Nelson Mandela

(b) Martin Luthar King

(c) Arther Ashe

(d) Toni Morrison

Ans: (d)

35. Who among the following Chiefs of Army Staff has been awarded the ‘Mahavir Chakra’ twice?

(a) General KM Cariappa

(b) General AS Vaidya

(c) General SHFJ Manekshaw

(d) General KS Thimayya

Ans: (b)

International Organizations

1. The 192nd member of UNO is

(a) Montenegro

(b) East Timor

(c) Swaziland

(d) Taiwan

Ans: (a)

2. Match the following

Match the Following
List – I AgencyList – II Headquarters
A. United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)1. Nairobi
B. United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)2. Vienna
C. United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)3. Berne
D Universal Postal Union (UPU)4. New York

(a) 2 3 4 1

(b) 4 1 2 3

(c) 2 1 4 3

(d) 4 3 2 1

Ans: (c)

3. Which of the following is not an agency of UN?

(a) Food and Agricultural Organization

(b) International Monetary Fund

(c) International Committee of the Red Cross

(d) International Labour Organization

Ans: (c)

4. Which of the following is a Cultural Organization

(a) FAO

(b) ILO

(c) WHO


Ans: (a)

5. The headquarters, of UNHCR is located at

(a) New York

(b) Rome

(c) London

(d) Geneva

Ans: (a)

6. The headquarters of International Atomic Energy Agency is in

(a) Geneva

(b) Washington DC

(c) Vienna

(d) London

Ans: (b)

7. Which Indian became the President of International Court of Justice?

(a) Justice HR Khanna

(b) Justice Ajit Ray

(c) Dr Nagendra Singh

(d) Justice PN Bhagwati

Ans: (c)

8. Which of the following are special agencies of the UNO?

1. WHO


3. IMF

4. FAO

Choose the Correct Option:

(a) 1 and 2

(b) 2 and 3

(c) 1,3 and 4

(d) 2,3 and 4

Ans: (a)

9. Which of the following is not true about the UNO?

(a) The financial year of the Secretariat is from April to March

(b) International Court of Justice is not a principal organ of the UNO

(c) The headquarters of the UNO is in New York city

(d) The Trusteeship Council of UNO is responsible for economic, social, and cultural matters

Ans: (c)