Competitive Exams: Political Science MCQs (Practice_Test 123 of 150)

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for UGC : fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

  1. The name of the Union given in the Constitution is

    1. Hindustan or Bharatavarsha

    2. India or Hindustan

    3. India or Bharat

    4. Bharatadesh or India

    Answer: c

  2. The Union of India consists of:

    1. States

    2. Union Territories

    3. Acquired Territories


    1. 1

    2. 2

    3. 1 2

    4. 1 2 3

    Answer: a

  3. Which of the following statements is/are correct?

    1. The territory of the units of the Indian federation may be altered by Parliament by a simple majority.

    2. The consent of a State Legislature is necessary before Parliament redistributes its territory.

    3. The President's recommendation is necessary for introducing in Parliament a Bill on redistributing territory of any State

    4. The President must receive the State's opinion before recommending a Bill on altering the name of the State.


    1. i only

    2. 1 2

    3. 1 3 4

    4. 1 3

    Answer: d

  4. Which of the following does not give correctly the name of the original State out of whose territory the new state was created?

    1. Andhra Pradesh from the State of Madras

    2. Arunachal Pradesh from Assam

    3. Meghalaya from Assam

    4. Goa from Maharashtra

    Answer: d

  5. Which of the following was ceded by the French to India?

    1. Dadra & Nagar Haveli

    2. Daman & Diu

    3. Karaikal and Mahe

    4. None of the above

    Answer: c

  6. Consider the following statements

    1. Union of India comprises State and Union Territories of India

    2. Territory of India comprises States and Union Territories of India

    3. Union of India includes the States which are members of the Federal system


    1. 1 2 correct

    2. 2 alone correct

    3. 2 3 correct

    4. 3 alone correct

    Answer: c

  7. The old name of which State and Union Territory is wrongly given?

    1. Karnataka-Mysore

    2. Tamil Nadu-Madras

    3. Lakshadweep-Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands

    4. Meghalaya-Eastern Hill Province

    Answer: d